Port Wine Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Decadent and delicious! This cake was NOT difficult to make. The comments of other reviewers puzzled me, especially the complaints that the cake did not rise. The recipe contains no leavening agents - it is not MEANT to rise. All of its volume comes from the air in the beaten eggs, which is why is it important to beat them thoroughly. This cake is absolutely delicious warm from the oven or cooled the next day. In the refrigerator, the glaze firms up nicely but remains soft enough to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This cake is simply delicious! Rich, moist and sophisticated taste. I followed the exact baking time and temperature. The toothpick came out wet but the cake was firm, silky and perfect when we cut it the next day. I reduced the portions of the wine and butter for the glaze. After completely cool it was creamy and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made this cake yesterday morning, served it about 5 hours later to 9 people. All but one liked it. It has a totally different texture than most cakes. It was a little dry. I took it out about 5 minutes early, it tested done. Next time I will check it earlier. Also will put some glaze on it, but will drizzle most of it on as I serve it. Glaze is fairly thin. Will also make it a day ahead, as today it seemed moister and smells heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Disappointed in this recipe. I make a chocolate rasp port and thought this would be a great recipe. I used good chocolate but it did not help. It was dry and fell apart as it cooled. I still served it but everyone said there were much better desserts. I would not waste time making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Excellent recipe. I didn't have a bundt pan, so made it in a 9-inch springform pan. I should have cut the cooking time, and actually took it out at about 35 minutes. The top was cracked, but that settled a bit after cooling. I think cutting the time for a springform pan to about 25-30 minutes would have kept it more moist. A great recipe, nonetheless. Dense & rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Gagné

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I had a lot of fun making this cake! Although it was incredibly sweet, I loved it. All my friends enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I LOVE this cake. Yes, it's takes some work but it's well worth it. I will not even consider a recipe that uses boxed cake mix. If you follow the directions it will come out great. It is necessary to keep your mixer on the full 5 minutes just as the directions say. I don't understand reviewers who don't follow directions and then end deducting stars. I ended up making mini bundt cakes and gave them out as gifts. Mine turned out moist and the only thing I did different was use bittersweet chocolate for the glaze rather than unsweetend. Delish and I will certaily be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Have been looking for a cake with Port for some time and this hits the spot. Also I like heavy dark cakes, but I put on my own chocolate glaze minus the Port. Thanks again. Contrary to other comments I didn't find this difficult to make - just a few more steps. A cake mix would definitely not taste the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
If you have the ingredients to make this recipe, I'd recommend making something else with them. This was okay. It was VERY dry. There are SO many better chocolate dessert recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Very rich. This is not for those who don't find dark chocolate appealing. SPECIAL NOTE: This turns out much more like a torte in appearance and texture than a cake. Expect minimial rising and a very heavy, but moist outcome. Also, if guests don't like a heavy alcohol taste...back off on the port in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States