Port Huron-Style Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I was out of ground mustard. Instead of a potato masher, I used a whisk to break up the meat in the water and spices. I doubled the recipe and let it cook for several hours. Everyone loved it, they not only used it on the dogs, they used it on the fries too. The recipe sounds weird, not browning the meat first, but it was so tender. This coney sauce was the best I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Having never been to Port Huron, I didn't know quite what to expect. I was looking for a coney sauce to replicate the one from my partner-in-crime's childhood. He described it as "more chili-like than sweet with a little kick, but not too much". I will say that I went a little heavier on the onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, paprika and chili powder. I also used dry mustard instead of prepared mustard because as long as I was rooting around in the spice cabinet for all these spices, why not? I also happened upon some celery salt while in the cupboard and used about a 1/2 tsp of that. I did not add the crackers at the end as having cooked this sauce for a couple of hours, it was already perfectly thick. I kind of thought it weird that there was no tomato product of any kind in this sauce, but in the end, it did not need it. It was perfectly spiced and "almost exactly" what I was looking for. This one is going in the five star file and I will be using it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
awesome...thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Thank you, thank you, thank you. My husband was born and raised in Port Huron and he always raves about the PH Coney sauce. I've never tried to make it myself so on Father's Day I decided to search and make some. Wow, for this recipe to pop up. I followed it to the T and it was PERFECT. A big hit at my party and my husband loved it. A keeper! Thanks so much. OH, and the potato masher tip. Never thought of it before. YOU ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Thank you. Since we moved to Iowa, we have to wait for the big road trip to get a decent coney. Thanks for bringing Detroit back home to us. Go WINGS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I do not eat red meat, but I made this for my daughter's first birhday party (the theme was Coney's and Cake). The sauce didn't turn out as "saucy" as I see it in restaurants, but everyone liked it. In fact, the pot was scraped clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Pretty good. I am here in TX and not quite accustomed to chili sauce like this one. I added a little salt and didnt do the beef base. Turned out really delicious. And GO WINGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Really good. I made it like the recipe said and not quite what Port Huron's Coneys are like but pretty close. I'll probably make this again but play with the sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Port Huron's own "Downtown Coney Island" (DCI) is the standard by which I judge coney island sauce. I appreciate the regional differences of the Coney Dog but if you love the unique flavor of DCI's sauce you will be very satisfied with this recipe. My wife, Julie, is a multi-generational Huronite who turned me on to the DCI scene in the first place and she loved my redition of this recipe. I didn't change a thing except I did salt it up to my taste. I'd give it a 4.5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Instead of adding water and thickening with crackers, make more gravy using the same liquid and dry ingredients in the recipe (sans meat, of course), bring to a boil, thicken with a flour and water mix and add back to the cooked meat. This will look and taste like the product at places like National Coney Island, or Ted's in Port Huron. PS, leave out the Cayenne. These restaurants do not use this. If you like hot, go ahead, but this isn't used in the restaurants, at least not at this strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidblaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Deckerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States