Port Huron-Style Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Instead of adding water and thickening with crackers, make more gravy using the same liquid and dry ingredients in the recipe (sans meat, of course), bring to a boil, thicken with a flour and water mix and add back to the cooked meat. This will look and taste like the product at places like National Coney Island, or Ted's in Port Huron. PS, leave out the Cayenne. These restaurants do not use this. If you like hot, go ahead, but this isn't used in the restaurants, at least not at this strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidblaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Deckerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Thank you. Since we moved to Iowa, we have to wait for the big road trip to get a decent coney. Thanks for bringing Detroit back home to us. Go WINGS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Thank you, thank you, thank you. My husband was born and raised in Port Huron and he always raves about the PH Coney sauce. I've never tried to make it myself so on Father's Day I decided to search and make some. Wow, for this recipe to pop up. I followed it to the T and it was PERFECT. A big hit at my party and my husband loved it. A keeper! Thanks so much. OH, and the potato masher tip. Never thought of it before. YOU ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Not sure what's goin on in Port Huron, but this is definitely not what I was expecting for a Coney sauce. It was OK for what it was but I won't be making it again. Gonna keep searching for the real Detroit Coney sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I was out of ground mustard. Instead of a potato masher, I used a whisk to break up the meat in the water and spices. I doubled the recipe and let it cook for several hours. Everyone loved it, they not only used it on the dogs, they used it on the fries too. The recipe sounds weird, not browning the meat first, but it was so tender. This coney sauce was the best I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Good but not "real" Michigan Coney Island chili. There is no tomato base. Places like Leo's Coney Island and many many many coney islands have the real deal. Good for what it is but not Michigan coney chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Pretty good. I am here in TX and not quite accustomed to chili sauce like this one. I added a little salt and didnt do the beef base. Turned out really delicious. And GO WINGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I do not eat red meat, but I made this for my daughter's first birhday party (the theme was Coney's and Cake). The sauce didn't turn out as "saucy" as I see it in restaurants, but everyone liked it. In fact, the pot was scraped clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We really liked this...Coney sauces are all different anyways so this one isn't my ultimate favorite but it's pretty addicting. Tastes kinda like Skyline chili. I didn't have beef base so I added beef stock instead of the water. I also was out of onion powder so I added minced onion-I actually spilled it in there & was going to fish it out but decided it would just rehydrate & be fine & it was. I also added a bit of celery seed. Yum. Would give this 4.5 stars if I could
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Really good. I made it like the recipe said and not quite what Port Huron's Coneys are like but pretty close. I'll probably make this again but play with the sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States