Port And Mushroom Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
THIS WAS A WONDERFUL RECIPE GOING TO BE MAKING IT AGAIN AND AGAIN ALTHOUGH I DID DOUBLE THE AMOUNT OF SAUCE MIXTURE SO THAT I COULD TOP WHITE RICE WITH IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Very good and yummy meal. Probably not one of the regular weekly dished you would prepare, good for company. This dish had such a wonderful rich flavor that was excellent with hot bread and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Fabulous meal. Used regular flour instead of whole wheat because I didn't have any. Also, added more chicken broth and port because it really didn't make enough sauce. Husband would have liked to have had more mushrooms so next time I will add more as well as more shallots. Used French bread to sop up the yummy sauce. Also, there was a reference to adding additional thyme but on my printout there was no previous reference to thyme. I added thyme and more tarragon to compensate. Chicken was extremely moist and that pleased my husband. He is not a chicken fan, especially not dry chicken but he went nuts over this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I love this dish. It's good to do something different with CHICKEN. I did double the mushrooms and sauce. We are saucey people! I used thicker chicken breasts, so it took probably 25 minutes to cook chicken on medium, not low.**Note to self, don't drink as much wine while cooking!! oh, never mind!! oh happy day :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
I have 3 people in my family and they don't like everything - they don't think some things go together good - but they really liked this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Amazing!! I made several changes, I doubled the sauce, I added 1/2 cup fat free half and half to make it creamy at the end, thickened it with corn starch, added red wine rather than port, and added some chives, and used onion rather than shallots, almost a new recipe, but still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I had two split chicken breasts on hand (for two), no shallots, used onions, no fresh mushrooms, used a 4-oz can, but kept all ingredients proportioned the same. I had to come up with something quick. This was so good with all the substitutions, I can only imagine how wonderful it will be when I make it again with the ingredients as written. I added about 2 tablespoons of half and half mixed with a teaspoon of corn starch at the end. Just a preference for a creamier gravy. This was very good, easy and ready in 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I loved this combination of flavors --tarragon and mushroom, I guess. I added LOTS of tarragon, and used a variety of mushrooms. And I used more wine and broth than called for -- and added a bit of sherry instead of port. Buono!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Absolutey great! I used a blush merlot and dried tarragon and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States