Port And Mushroom Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Very tasty. I had to use dry sherry instead of the port wine because I picked up the wrong wine. I will definitly make this again. I too will double the sauce. I liked using whole wheat flour. It seemed to stick to the chicken better than white and browned nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Very rarely do I rate a recipe a 1-star but my roommate and I took two bites and decided to throw it out. I do not know why it tasted so bad. I believe may be far too much taragon in this dish. Based upon previous reviews the only change I made was to triple the sauce and mushrooms. A similar recipe that I've rated 5-stars is "Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic". I highly recommend this recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Great recipe! I also doubled the sauce like most people & used Cream sherry instead of port. I bought the thin sliced fosters farm's breast's, they seem to cook a bit more evenly. Next time I cook this I think that I will melt a thin slice of mozzarella on each breast before pouring the mushroom sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is delicious. My roommate loves it when I make this, because the aroma fills the entire house. I did double the sauce, but other than that followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
A very good recipe. I used dried tarragon and added a dash of heavy cream to the sauce. Forgot entirely about the parsley. I recommend this. Thanks, Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanibel Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I made this for a business dinner. My guest gobbled it up!! I bought fresh breasts from the butcher (5) and used a whole can of chicken broth. I also used a whole container of sliced mushrooms. I didn't use the parsley. I would use more shallots, maybe 4T instead. Very Good!!! I've made it twice and the wheat flour gives a great taste. I will use wheat for all browning to see what happens. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This was a very nice chicken recipe. I made it for company and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I tried it twice, once as listed and once doubling sauce and using a bit more flour to thicken it. Great flavor, even for a guy that doesn't really like mushrooms ... I ate every one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kowitz1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Really good recipe. I'll make this again. I used several tips in the reviews. I pounded out the chicken, TRIPLED the mushrooms and sauce instead of just doubling, and served it all over the chicken and a side of mashed potatoes. You couldn't get better than this in a restaurant! Thanks, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
WOW!!! The flavor was incredible and the directions were easy to follow. I will definitely make this again. My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States