Port And Mushroom Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Quick, easy and delicious. If you follow the recipe, you don't have any problem thickening the sauce and WHY milk????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
used courgettes as didn't have mushroom. used 3 dried bay leaves instead of tarragon. wasn't enough sauce, and even if there was a bigger quantity, the sauce isn't thick or creamy enough for my liking. not sure this recipe would taste much better had I stuck to the original. I think it's doing a bit too much work to have to heat up the chicken first, and then keep it warm, could just cook the chicken later on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Recipe says to cook chicken 10 minutes (or until cooked through). More like 30 minutes. Glad I used the suggestion to double mushrooms, wine & stock. Delicious flavor and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Living In: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I highly recommend at least doubling both the stock and wine, the mushrooms and the shallots. Shallots are a definite Myst, adding that much needed garlicky flavour. I did not have the white wine however was able to substitute wonderfully using one half cup water and a quarter cup vinegar and a tablespoon sugar combined. I'll be definitely repeating this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I used oregano instead of tarragon and added garlic instead of shallots. It was very tasty to me. My BF says that he thought I should have added more port, but I personally think that would overpower the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chemhead1129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was really good. The taste of the port is very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Well I probably reconfigured this whole recipe, but I used cabernet instead of red. I used blanched pearl onions instead of shallots. Doubled the onions, wine and stock. Nixed the tarragon, but added bay leaves, thyme, dried parsley, sea salt and cracked pepper. The whoe wheat flour is a must - adds a nice, nutty overtone. It became a week-night, quicky coq au vin of sorts. Served it over a bed of arugula with parmesan couscous on the side. brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I LOVED this recipe!! I made some modifications based on what I had lying around. I only had white wine, so I nixed the port. No shallots on hand, used onions instead. Didn't use any tarragon or parsley. I added some garlic (What are mushrooms without garlic??) I also tripled the sauce. Overall . . . fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pacific, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Really enjoyed this recipe. Perfect for a hot summer night when you don't want something heavy. The port sauce had just a hint of sweetness, which went well with the chicken. I only had dried tarragon on hand; next time I'll try fresh (although it's admittedly not my favorite spice). I also appreciated how quick this recipe was to throw together, especially when you're tired after work and the gym.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! The sauce thickened up, courtesy of the mushrooms soaking up some of the liquid, and it became almost like a glaze. Also, I was out of tarragon, so I used rosemary. It was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oclocal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States