Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Oops, I must have forgotten to include 1/2 cup saltanas in the ingredients when I submitted the recipe. You simply add the saltanas with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I tried this recipe for myself and I really enjoyed it. The only change I made was that I used honey instead of sugar and was a little more liberal with the cinnamon. I love this recipe and will definitely make it again . Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great recipe -- easy, quick, delicious and versatile. It's great as is, but sometimes I leave out the bananas and add apples, dates, peaches, apricots, walnuts and/or berries --whatever I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Simple, fast and delicious recipe! Instead of sugar, I used honey. The taste of cooked banana combined with cinnamon makes the trick of this recipe. I really enjoyed this porridge and will make it again as long as I have bananas in my fruit basket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is a great starting point recipe. I modified it quite a bit (no bananas, brown sugar instead of white, pinch of salt instead of full amount) and it turned out great. It was my first time making porridge, and it was a huge success. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I enjoy this recipe but I leave off the sugar and salt and let the banana reduce completely and then add a handful of blueberries and a sliced strawberry (single serving) to top it off once I put in a bowl - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I didn't try it with bananas, as I find cooked bananas too mushy. Instead, I added dried raisins, dried and chopped appricots, and chopped almonds. I upped the cinnamon, added cloves, nutmeg, and allspice, and Voila! Christmas cookies for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This porridge is great, I love the Cinnomon in it, I did add about 2 tabs. Heavy whipping cream per serving to it to add extra flavor to it, and then it was great. My kids also liked it with a little more Cinnomon and some rasins in it, but the recipe was easy and quick to make, a must in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I thought this was pretty bland until I added a ton of brown sugar. Maybe next time I'll add some more spices to it. My toddler ate a whole bowl of it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I didn't like this recipe much. But I didn't make it for nothing because my mum ate it. I think I didn't enjoy it much because I dont like the hot banana taste. I added some brown sugar and that made a bit of difference but it still needed something. I dont think it tasted like porridge just bananas. Over all this recipe would be good for people that like the hot banana taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States