Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I loved the smell but it tasted awful! To much banana flavor even after reducing the amount of bananas to 1 banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
too much salt. needs more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I enjoy this recipe but I leave off the sugar and salt and let the banana reduce completely and then add a handful of blueberries and a sliced strawberry (single serving) to top it off once I put in a bowl - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is a great starting point recipe. I modified it quite a bit (no bananas, brown sugar instead of white, pinch of salt instead of full amount) and it turned out great. It was my first time making porridge, and it was a huge success. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Very easy to put together and a nice hearty breakfast on a cold day. I added a little brown sugar to the top because I thought it needed to be slightly sweeter. I did not care for the texture of the bananas cooked into the porridge. They were a little too mushy for my personal preference. I would make this again, but, add some dried fruit and nuts instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Simple, fast and delicious recipe! Instead of sugar, I used honey. The taste of cooked banana combined with cinnamon makes the trick of this recipe. I really enjoyed this porridge and will make it again as long as I have bananas in my fruit basket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was really weird. I cut the amount of salt in half and it was still way too salty. The whole thing tasted like salty bananas, very strange. Next time I will leave the salt out all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great recipe -- easy, quick, delicious and versatile. It's great as is, but sometimes I leave out the bananas and add apples, dates, peaches, apricots, walnuts and/or berries --whatever I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This porridge is great, I love the Cinnomon in it, I did add about 2 tabs. Heavy whipping cream per serving to it to add extra flavor to it, and then it was great. My kids also liked it with a little more Cinnomon and some rasins in it, but the recipe was easy and quick to make, a must in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I thought this was pretty bland until I added a ton of brown sugar. Maybe next time I'll add some more spices to it. My toddler ate a whole bowl of it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States