Porotos Granados (Chilean Bean Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Delicious, I only changed a few things, I used an heirloom squash variety very similar to butternut squash that I picked up at my local farmer's market and I used cannelini beans and pinto beans, veggie broth instead of chicken broth and I seasoned it with paprika and cumin in a 2 to 1 ratio. Delicious with a little bit of pepper for a kick. I will definitely make this again as it was very tasty and healthy. Even my boyfriend loved it and was asking me to make it again before we even finished eating the first batch! Wonderful sweet/spicy flavor with the added paprika and cumin. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I have never made beans without garlic, ginger or asafoetida. This recipe definitely needs some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
A good base recipe for a hearty stew. I used dried lima beans and omitted the canned great northern beans, and I suggest adding 2-4 diced tomatoes, 1/4 C dry white wine, and 1 clove garlic for a more authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Him
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very nice stew! I have made this as-written, and again with the variation suggested in the reviews, and it just keeps getting better! My dad is Chilean so it is fun to make this for the family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Him

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Summersville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mountain View, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
SO tasty. I added coriander in the beginning and fresh cilantro and a ton of basil toward the end. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I added garlic and omitted the northern beans. It tastes just like I had it in Chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Really good! I used navy beans instead of Great Northern beans, and I added a little garlic. Did not have fresh basil so subbed dried. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Iam Chilean, this dish is very popular in Chile. The way I make it is I boil the lima beans (no other kind of beans should be added) and squash with salt, chicken buillon and basil, in an other pan I brown onions garlic, salt and more basil in oil (chilean people uses fat to brown it(from bacon tastes great) and add it to the soup, put the corn and basil(yes, more basil) in the food processor and add it tho the soup cook for 25 minutes more and is ready. add more salt if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Very tasty and filling; used northern beans only (didn't have lima beans on hand). Make sure to use plenty of basil and sprinkle some of the chopped pepper on top of your bowl if you like a bit of extra kick. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
If you want to speed up the cooking time, you can use a blender to blend the chicken stock with the raw onions and squash (yes you'll change the flavor when you don't saute the onions, but it's a huge time saver not to chop and saute them and if you have picky kids or adults, it's a nice way to hide the onions). Once those are pureed it's only a matter of heating up the soup. My family thought it tasted "fresh." However, the recipe benefits from salt and pepper to taste, plus garlic (which we added once we found it needed it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States