Porkolt (Hungarian Stew) Made With Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This recipe was quite good, I did add some cayenne pepper (1tbsp) as I had no Hungarian Paprika on hand. Hungarian Paprika is usually "spicier" than normal grocery store paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I've made this dish many times. I LOVE it!! Sometimes I'll substitute the egg noodles with rice for a bit of a healthier alternative, or I'll use "Acini de pepe" tiny noodles. I also like to add a tablespoon of "vegetta" seasoning while simmering. I add a bit of Parmesan on top of each serving with a bun. YUMMY!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I honestly cannot say enough about this recipe! It tastes just like Grandma's cooking! I was surprised by how simple it actually was! It does take a bit of time but i assure you it is well worth it! I did not reserve the bacon drippings (sorry Grandpa) to brown my chops or sautee the peppers in, I used a tiny bit of extra light tasting olive oil instead. Which made the prep time a little faster since I was able to do the chops at the same time as the bacon, onions and peppers. However, I did leave a little of the bacon drippings in the pan so that the onions didn't stick. Also, I added one fresh clove of garlic, minced, to the pot before simmering. Next time I may up the fresh garlic and omit the garlic powder. We LOVE the taste of fresh garlic! This is 100% comfort food for any one who has grown up eating traditional Hungarian food! Thank you SO much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Wow, thats all I can say-we LOVED this! I had only 1/2 lb lean pork meat, but with the bacon there was plenty of meat and flavor; I used peeled fresh tomatoes from our garden rather than canned and I had rich Labanese yogurt instead of sour cream. Oh, and I used two big cloves of garlic rather than powdered. Hubby just keeps raving about how much he liked it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe, thank you. I use pork loin cubed for stewing and brown that and add directly to the stock pot. Less hassle than chops and it works just as well. Like others I also add some cayenne since I don't have Hungarian paprika and it does need that kick I think. This is now firmly rated as a family favorite...I want to figure out the fluids for slow cooking next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
nagyon finom volt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This recipe was amazing!!! I added fresh garlic instead of the powder. Used chicken broth instead of beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Delicious - I made this with pancetta instead of bacon and chicken broth (it's what I already had open) and cooked it on low for several hours in the oven, along with the pork chop bones for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crumpet

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I did not have pepper so I left them out. It turned out great even without them, but I will be putting them in next time because it sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
we really enjoyed this recipe... it has a lot of zip without being overly hot. I used paprika paste my aunt had brought back from Hungary and it worked out great. I also used a pork loin and sliced it up instead of using chops. Great flavor and made really good leftovers too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States