Porkolt (Hungarian Stew) Made With Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This recipe was quite good, I did add some cayenne pepper (1tbsp) as I had no Hungarian Paprika on hand. Hungarian Paprika is usually "spicier" than normal grocery store paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
When Hubs remarks “This is another of those dishes I really like that I’ll never see again,” you know you have something here! (Except for family favorites I rarely prepare the same dish twice) This is just excellent; a flavorful and satisfying comfort food that doesn’t bog down in an overload of spices or any processed ingredients. I started off with boneless country-style ribs that I cut into small pieces before browning them in bacon grease. I cooked the onion separately, a good long while before continuing on with the recipe, and used fresh garlic rather than garlic powder. Given that I scaled this down to three servings (one pound of meat) for Hubs and me, it wasn’t practical for me to open up a can of beef broth for the small amount called for. Red wine filled in nicely (I happened to have a glass handy :) I used twice the amount of tomatoes called for (a full can for the 3-serving recipe I made) and in my view it was just right. Rather than stirring the sour cream into the mix I gave each plate a dollop of it upon serving and when I make this again I’ll do it the same way. I served this over buttered wide noodles and garnished it with chives. I’m not sure just what made this so darn good, the bacon maybe or the sweet Hungarian paprika, but this humble dish was a real sleeper hit tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Almost like mom's. I made a few changes to what I remember being in the dish as a child. I halved the recipe. Skipped the bacon and opted to use canola oil instead of the bacon grease. Sauteed onion, a few cloves of minced garlic, handful each of frozen diced green and red bell pepper. Added the diced pork (used a 1/4-1/2 pork loin roast, relatively lean) then tossed in the seasonings, including a beef bouillon cube for the beef broth. I also squeezed in a generous teaspoon or two of sweet red (bell?) pepper paste. Let it cook down until pork was nearly fully cooked. Added the can of diced tomatoes and water mixed with enough browned flour to thicken (this is the liquid part used combined with the beef bouillon cube to replace the beef broth). I let this practically come to a rolling boil and 'simmered' for about 30 minutes then added half a small container of sour cream and 2-3 generous shakes of Parmesan. Lowered the heat to a light simmer, just enough to meld the cheese and sour cream into the sauce. Served over linguine (not traditional, but that's all we had) and had the shaker on the side if anyone wanted extra cheese (you could say the addition of the Parmesan is an American touch/take on the dish). I'm half Hungarian, and this is comfort food at its best (for me, at least!). As a side note, there are two types of Hungarian paprika- The 'hot' being spicy, and 'edes' being mild (not spicy). It is still different from regular grocery paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was a different recipe for us! I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I had to add flour to the sauce mixture because it didn't thicken up the way I would have liked. Other than that it was a great recipe. Definitely a weekend recipe for the all the steps and the amount of time involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
nagyon finom volt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Wow, thats all I can say-we LOVED this! I had only 1/2 lb lean pork meat, but with the bacon there was plenty of meat and flavor; I used peeled fresh tomatoes from our garden rather than canned and I had rich Labanese yogurt instead of sour cream. Oh, and I used two big cloves of garlic rather than powdered. Hubby just keeps raving about how much he liked it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
A big hit with my husband who is a kind, but discriminating critic of new recipes. He enthusiastically gives it 5 stars as well. I used regular old American paprika, but recently found Hungarian and can't wait to try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I have made this more than a few times, and every time it comes out delicious :))) I follow the recipe exact everytime, sometimes I add more bacon because we love bacon in this house... I usually serve it over some sort of rice (white/jasmin/basmati) instead of the egg noodles but that's just personal choice ;)) my bf loves pulled pork sandwiches, so when I buy a pork rib roast, I cook up the meat in my slow cooker.. I save half of the meat (about 3 or 4 Lbs), and shred it, and put it in a ziploc freezer bag in my freezer.. when I get the craving for this recipe, I just pull out the meat from the freezer and use that... I add it to the pot after I saute the bacon, onions, paprika... another thing I have done is with the left overs from this recipe the next evening, it is GREAT rolled up in a flour tortilla and baked in the oven with some extra sauce + cheese, as a enchilada! (I have added some black beans into the porkolt mixture and/or some kibblet corn, with the rice mixed in - not the noodles) is a really good way to put a spin on the leftovers... thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This dish was DA Dish! I skipped the peppers but it still turned out wonderful. I almost regretted adding the sour cream as I loved the sauce without it. As we are only two people, I cut the recipe in half..The leftovers were gone the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Delicious - I made this with pancetta instead of bacon and chicken broth (it's what I already had open) and cooked it on low for several hours in the oven, along with the pork chop bones for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crumpet

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States