Porkolt (Hungarian Stew) Made With Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Delicious even without Hungarian Paprika. Used regular paprika, and will keep an eye out for the Hungarian variety next time I'm in a middle eastern market. That likely will force me to give it 5 stars the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Made this tonight with a few changes and it was fabulous. I used cubed pork chops instead of whole, and ended up sauteeing the whole thing in one pan. Omitted the beef broth for a thicker sauce, and doubled the amount of bacon (because I needed to use some up!) I used authentic smoked Hungarian paprika, which definitely added the robust flavor that makes this dish so unique and flavorful. Definitely give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This is a good dish to train teen daughters on. It's almost foolproof and good enough to impress company. (wink, wink) You can cut the stewing time some by using thin cut breakfast chops, and I usually add a half teaspoon dried marjoram. You can omit the garlic, but it should be blessed with a half tsp (to taste) of ground caraway seed. DO not sub bad paprika. Nemes Edes (noble sweet) is the only way to go. Brands: King Red, Pride of Szeged or Papa. Or buy from a good dealer like Penzey's. HUngarians use banana peppers, I agree but I will sub green bells but not yellow, for their richer flavor. Beef broth is a bit heavy, some would prefer chick broth. Tomatoes: try fire-roasted or chef-cut. I use Red Gold. Can be served over (!) mashed potatoes, or with Hungarian noodles (csipetke, galuska, spaetzle) or, in a pinch, some farfalle or medium shells. The BP is, IMO, optional; I don't use it. Best bacon is uncured slab, but I think Hormel makes an uncured thin cut. I'm am making this tonight. I will go heavy on the bacon! This dish is VERY forgiving, so go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I just cooked the meat right away, then added the onions and peppers, then the spices, tomatoes and beef broth. It didn't take anywhere near 90 minutes. Probably closer to 30 minutes from start to finish. It was good, but it seems to be close to a goulash. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
LOVED this recipe. My family all loved it as well, which is saying quite a lot! I didn't have any hungarian paprika, so I just used plain ole' American paprika.....turned out great! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I wanted something that wasn't beef or lamb stew, and something different from those styles. This recipe looked really interesting. I made only a couple changes: first I had to lean it down to serve 3 people. Second I wanted to cheapen the cost down by using a lesser cut and cooking itnlonger. I kept the bacon at 5 slices, because we love bacon. Used 3/4 of large onion. 1/2 Green Pepper, 3/4 Red Pepper. 2/3 cup of broth was great for this quantity. As for the pork I used 2 lbs. of pork butt; gristle & fat removed, and cut into 1 inch pieces, and I didn't change the seasoning. I took the cook time to 3 hours to insure that the butt was tender and cooked through. This was a excellent recipe that I had to gear towards my family and costs. I made the Hungarian dumplings and let them cook in the sauce for the last 45 minutes. Definitely a "keeper" recipe and will do this one again. Added to my Comfort Food recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHEISS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I left out the onion (used garlic instead) and the peppers. Plus since my husband hates tomatoes I left those out and just used tomato soup. I also added mushrooms and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
absolutely delicious! made this for my wife and her family who are Hungarian...they were very impressed! the bacon and the bacon flavors this dish so well...not over powering, but just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dallen Spaugy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I made this for my grandparents who are Kosher so I didn't use bacon and replaced the pork with stew beef and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
My DH loved this so much he said, he would eat it with out the pork in it. The sauce is so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley85r

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States