Porkolt (Hungarian Stew) Made With Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very good, we had a pork loin so we used that instead of chops. The Paprika flavor was nice. Thanks You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I really liked it but the rest of the family just thought it was okay. I halved the recipe which was just enough for a family of 4 and a little left overs. I didn't have Hungarian Paprika so I used regular. Fresh garlic instead of powder. Red instead of Yellow pepper and only 1/2 cup of regular sour cream. Next time I will probably put it in the crock pot to make things easier. I diced boneless pork chops before browning them in bacon grease and went a little heavier on the bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Nice mix of flavors. Quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made modifications based on recommendations by reviewer naples34102. I made this as four servings, using 20oz of pork, an entire small yellow pepper, an entire small onion, and an entire can of diced tomatoes. I used sweet red wine in place of the beef broth as well. Served over egg noodles and topped with a dollop of sour cream and chopped green onions. My husband and I both raved over this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnna Quartuccio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Really comfort food tasty - I have Hungarian heritage and didn't even have any Szedge Paprika in the house. Had to use regular. Used a boneless pork loin cut into cubes (cheaper than pork chops) Used minced garlic. Adjusted recipe for 6 servings. Used a Dutch Oven on the stove, simmered for just over 90 minutes. Everyone enjoyed it. Was great next day for lunch as well. Pork was fork tender. Served over egg noodles as no time/energy for dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Didn't measure but used all ingredients. My family love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I cut the recipe and made for 2. It was actually enough for 3 nice servings. I have the Ninja Slow Cooker so I adjusted so I can do everything in one pan. I browned the bacon on high with the stove top setting. Removed it and let it rest and drain. Then I added 1 small chopped onion till it was almost translucent then added 1 pound of cubed boneless pork chops and chopped up bacon. Brown on high and then shift to medium heat. When all the pink was gone I added spices. 1/8 c paprika and adjusted garlic and pepper. 1 can diced tomatoes 1 can of beef broth. Reset the Ninja to the slow cooker low setting. It turned out marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Loved this dish! Added mushrooms cause I'm a fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This was delicious, but a tad labor intensive. My dad, who is from Hungary, always used chunks of pork and browned it that way, instead of using chops and then cutting them into pie es
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Omg! This was sooo good followed recipe to exact. Husband and kids wanted more! The next wk, they asked for this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States