Porketta Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This is one of the best Porketta recipes to date! Easy to make! Toss it in the slow cooker with potatoes and carrots and you'll have a dinner everyone will enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wakefield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
The first time I made this recipe, I would have given it 3 stars. The flavor did not infuse the meat as I would have liked. I made it again with a few modifications and it was WONDERFUL! First, I salted the roast before applying the rub. Second, I ground the fennel and dill. Third, I added 1 tsp. of paprika because all the pre-made porketta roasts in the meat section have it. Also, I put it in the slow cooker for 10 hours on low, turning once half-way through. Before serving I cut the meat and let it soak in the juices for about 5 minutes. MMMM. I think the leftovers will be shredded and used in sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Yum! Thanks for the recipe - My sister's in-laws are Italian and this is their traditional Christmas Day dinner, but they usually order the seasoned roast from a local deli. They use rosemary instead of the dill, though. We always roast potatoes in the pan so they get all crisp and seasoned by the spices and drippings - Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
My husband has been wanting to make porketta, and after reviewing several recipes, this is the one we tried. It was excellent! I got a boneless pork loin roast, which he butterflied and pounded a bit. To the herbs he added a bit of olive oil to make a paste, then rubbed it on the meat. Then, rolled it and tied it and did it on the grill. It was really good ... so much better than the premade porkettas we've had. I'm not wild about dill, because it can overpower other flavors, but it worked well with the other herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Tastes really good, but the seasonings should really be ground up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
The seasonings in this were incredibly delicious. Taking the advice of others I did grind all the spices together. I used the seasoning rub on a boneless loin of pork. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I loved the seasonings. The only thing I did different was I sliced the pork so it would lay flat and sprinkled the spices across the meat and then rolled and tied it. I was looking for a good porketta recipe and this is it...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
My husband is a very picky eater, and really loved ths recipe! All the spices just make it so tasty! I got a 10/10 for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
Very good! I mixed the herbs with a little oil then rubbed on roast. Helped them stick better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This recipe is the real thing. My boyfriend grew up in the UP of Michigan were this is very common. I made this for him and said it was the real thing! Very simple to make. Great on the grill also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States