Porketta Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Not a fan of dill, but I followed the recipe as stated and I was greatly surprised. The flavors melded well together. It did take a little over 2 hours to cook though. Thanks for the recipe. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenstir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakemoor, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Good, but I was surprised that more flavours didn't come through. All I could taste was fennel! Will keep it on file for future experimentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Fabulous! Made a "mouth watering" roast! I did it just the same except added 2 teaspoons sweet basil! "Yum"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This very good. I was brought up on porketta . Try this same recipie on a turkey breast (Turketta)... You will be pleastly surprised ! Donny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caspian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I really loved this! I prepared this as the instructions demonstrated, put it in my roaster pan with the lid on. It came out very juicy. This was good reheated for leftovers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was my first attempt at Porketta and my boys requested that this go into the frequently made file! I mixed spices with a bit of olive oil to help them stick to roast..yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I always alter the recipes to my liking so i used chicken broth and added potatoes, carrots & onion,covered with foil to steam it all in juices & spices. careful not overcook or it will be dry. i did a rub w/olive oil also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
The first time I made this recipe, I would have given it 3 stars. The flavor did not infuse the meat as I would have liked. I made it again with a few modifications and it was WONDERFUL! First, I salted the roast before applying the rub. Second, I ground the fennel and dill. Third, I added 1 tsp. of paprika because all the pre-made porketta roasts in the meat section have it. Also, I put it in the slow cooker for 10 hours on low, turning once half-way through. Before serving I cut the meat and let it soak in the juices for about 5 minutes. MMMM. I think the leftovers will be shredded and used in sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is delicious! Pork on its own, not so much, but the seasonings make it simply amazing! Unfortunantly I didn't have fennel seed, so I didn't have the "full experience". It goes great with tomatoes sauted in butter! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
My husband has been wanting to make porketta, and after reviewing several recipes, this is the one we tried. It was excellent! I got a boneless pork loin roast, which he butterflied and pounded a bit. To the herbs he added a bit of olive oil to make a paste, then rubbed it on the meat. Then, rolled it and tied it and did it on the grill. It was really good ... so much better than the premade porkettas we've had. I'm not wild about dill, because it can overpower other flavors, but it worked well with the other herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States