Porketta Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My family loved it! I made it in the crock pot instead of the oven since I don't have time to wait after work. So I added 1 cup water to it in the crock pot and cooked it about 8 hours. The only other variation was I used fresh dill that my new neighbor gave me. The roast was falling apart delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
this was very good.. i scaled down to 1 pound of pork and used boneless chops.. only thing missing was the salt.. i threw all the herbs/seasonings in the coffee grinder and let sit on the pork for about an hour.. cooked these on the griddle for more even cooking and salted at the end.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
do you roast the porketta covered or uncovered?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have made Porketta roast a few times. This will be the first time I use this recipe. But, in the past when I made it, I remember that the previous recipes called for approximately 1 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. If you like that kind of thing, go ahead and add it. You won't be sorry and it's not overpowering with heat either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Nice change of pace for a pork roast but i thought the fennel seed was a bit much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I loved this recipe! So juicy and tender! Definetely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Perfect. Made it just as the recipe stated - let it sit covered with foil in the oven for 1/2 hr after turning off the heat. Lots of juices in the bottom of the pan and I sliced the roast into the juices. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Wish I could give this 10 stars! Just fabulous, and so easy. My suggestions are - I'm not so much of a fan of actual pork roasts and prefer a bit leaner meat. So, I used pork tenderloins for this recipe. I cooked mine in the crockpot. The night before, I put my tenderloins in a baggie with the seasoning (ground the fennel a bit as others have suggested) and just enough vegetable oil to mix with the spices and coat the tenderloins. Then put it in the crock pot in the AM and it was perfect for supper. Whatever you do, do not leave out the fennel. That is what makes it porketta, and it is fabulous! So glad I found this recipe. My husband is from Northern Minnesota and we just can't find porketta roasts in the store here in Texas. But, now with this recipe I can make porketta that exceeds his high expectations! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I butterflied the roast (used a boneless shoulder) and put half of the rub inside, trussed it and rubbed the outside with the remainder. Been making this for years...love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Maltby, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I used regular dried dill and ground up the fennel seed, which was the prominent flavour. Even for our 2 lbs. roast it needed the full cooking time as indicated in the recipe for a 4lbs roast. It did end up somewhat dry, and we weren't a fan of the flavours. We've tried dry rubs on pork roasts before, but this one isn't to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States