Pork-n-Beans Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
5 STARS, BUT ONLY WITH THESE ALTERATIONS: The point of bean cake is our health, so I made the following changes. Reduce sugar from 2 cups to 1 1/2 cups. Substute most of the oil for applesauce, (I used 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup applesauce). To eliminate even more sugar (and the fat from the pork), I used a 16 oz. jar of home-canned black beans in place of the baked beans with pork. To hide the beans, I substituted 3 Tbsp. cocoa powder for the 1 teaspoon cinnamon. I also have a wheat grinder, so I ground fresh whole wheat flour and substituted it for the white flour. I left out the raisins. With these changes, you can transform this recipe into a DELICIOUS, HEALTHY CHOCOLATE BLACK BEAN CAKE. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Very tasty and moist! I replaced all of the oil with applesauce and made muffins (baked about 30 min) and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Yes, just like everyone else, I too was skeptical. But let me tell you all, delicious!!! Don't change a thing. Follow the recipe and it will turn out great. I have a pet peeve, when people don't follow the recipes and change things around then give less than 5 stars, it makes me mad. Very good cake. I made the 2 loaves. Tastes like a pumpkin type flavor. I will definately make it again and again. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D'Borah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
this was an excellent cake. funny name, great taste. sorta like pumpkin bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This cake is moist and tastes great! I do suggest mashing the beans, otherwise you end up seeing whole beans in the cake. Also, I replaced most of the oil for applesauce (maybe 4/5 applesauce to 1/5 oil), and I used only 2/3 of the amount of sugar that it called for. The cake still comes out very sweet. Great idea to use beans to sneak in some extra fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Does this really turn out as good as you think it would? No.....it's BETTER. I don't use two cups of sugar, one is plenty and I also use butter or margerine instead of vegetable oil. Instead of just cinnamon, I'll add two teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and I soak my raisins in hot juice or rum (making sure to drain them well) before adding them to the batter. It is one of those spice cakes where people remark on "OMG, this is SO good....how did you make it?" and then once they find out, they HAVE to make it themselves so they can fool someone else. This is also good as cupcakes with a Cream Cheese Frosting. GREAT for White Trash Parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This cake is one where people say, "mmmm, what's this?" after tasting it, and the look on their faces is quite amusing after you tell them there's a can of pork and beans! My roommate made this for a dietetics class once, and she said that nobody could tell what it was made out of! So it's kind of a joke that we make it for each other's birthday every year now. but it really is pretty good, nice and moist and it does in fact taste similar to a spice cake. I haven't tried any type of icing or frosting, but I have made this cake quite a few times, and though people may be hesitant, they will surprise themselves after tasting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I don't know if it is because I know the beans are in there, but I can taste them. It's OK. Definitely fun to make and share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Family loved it! Said it tasted like a dessert spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PTMUGUCA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Great recipe. I too was very lary of the way this cake may taste. but what a surprise its wonderful. I made it for after dinner tonight and my husband and daughter had no clue as to how it was made they just knew it was wonderful tasting and wanted more. i told my daughter how i made it and she was very surprised and said you are kidding me.made with baked beans. I did change a couple of things, i used 2 cups less 3 tablespoons of white sugar and i used 1 cup of extra virgin olive oil instead of veggi oil and i used 1 cup white flour along with 1 cup whole wheat flour, i threw in 3 tablespoons of ground golden flaxseed, and i used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon instead of 1.i will cut back more on the sugar next time but this is for sure a keeper and a great recipe to share with friends and family and let them guess whats in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States