Pork-n-Beans Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very interesting. I was looking for stuff to do to use up my baked beans and came across this and knew even if it turned out horrible I had to try it. It's actually really good. I used Heinz baked beans in tomato sauce. I ran out of white sugar, so it ended up being about 1.33 of white, and another third of brown. It made 4 mini loafs and 6 muffins. I was a little weary tasting it knowing what had gone in, but it's quite good. The rains are a good addition as well. It doesn't look like the main picture, but more like the ones other people have uploaded of a very light bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I disagree w/the reviewer that said the point of this bread isour health. the point is for it to taste good and give pleasure. If you make it as written it will do just that and when you reveal to people what is actually in it you get to giggle at their surprised looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Made this with some substitutions. Used whole wheat flour, beans in tomato sauce (it's all we had and eat) splenda and mostly applesauce with maybe 3 tb of oil. Also added more cinnamon than called for, and some nutmeg. Cake was very good and will make again, with some more revisions. I will add quite a bit more seasoning next time - cinnamon, nutmeg, pumpkin pie etc. This made 2 - we added nuts to one. It was our favourite so will add more nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Unbelieveable! You would never guess the beans are in there. Hubby thought it was pumpkin bread. I used applesauce instead of oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I am making this right now and it looks like it is going to be wonderful!! It's my friend's birthday and she is a health nut so I didn't want to make a regular cake for her. I am using a round pan instead of loafs to make it look more like a birthday cake and I'm going to ice it with a powdered sugar frosting. (not really healthy but come on...you can only be so healthy on your birthday!) We work together and I am bringing it in to share with everyone so I will update this to reflect their reactions! (I only gave it 4 stars so far because I haven't tasted it yet. This may change...we'll see) I subbed most of the oil for applesauce and used baked beans without pork (shes a vegetarian) I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Loved this recipe!!! I halved the white sugar and also used one cup brown sugar instead. I added golden raisins and walnuts and some allspice. Next time I will try it with splenda. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Excellent! Love the looks from co-workers when you eventually tell them what kind it is. I, too, smooshed the beans so it wasn;t obvious. In loaf pans it took mine 65 minutes to cook. I also dusted the cooled cakes with powder sugar before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Great way to get rid of baked beans. I had a 28oz can of vegetarian baked beans so I used that and didn't add any oil. I tasted it before baking and decided to add some pumpkin pie spice to go make it more like pumpkin bread (because it definitely has the coloring for it). I also put it in one loaf pan and it worked out fine. Overall, pretty good, moist, but not a recipe that hits it out of the park.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
easy to make, very moist. I did cut 1/2 cup of sugar out (1 1/2 C. total) and 3/4 C. applesauce and 1/4 C oil. Took a loaf to work everyone thought it was good and were surprised that it contained pork n beans. No one could get over how moist it was. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I was skeptical about this recipe, but it was a HIT at the office. I made it again, substituting the raisens for bacon bits and peanuts and I cut the sugar in half - amazing. I also used applesauce instead of oil to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States