Pork in Olive Oil Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
using suggestions from this site -- cooked til near done and made the sauce a reduction with which I then tossed the pork til it was finished. As my husband despises cilantro I instead put half the amount in the reduction to cook down, and sprinkled the pork at midpoint with the garlic, 3/4 tsp fresh ground coriander, and a tsp of parsley. He ate it all, and I still got the cilantro that I love.... served it with cous cous flavored with olive oil infused with lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
super quick meal but not overly flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Okay, but a little bland. I'd probably use less oil in the sauce and more garlic/cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I liked the flavor of this meal, used Sherry instead of port. Meat was a little tough and not as tender and juicy as I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Nice flavor, especially due to the cilantro, but too much oil in the dressing. Next time, I'll reduce the oil by 1/2, maybe a little less vinegar, but use the same amount of port. I also fried garlic for last minute of pork cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was good, but not the best. It was a bit bland for my tastes. To make it a complete meal I added one each of a red, green and yellow bell pepper, and served it over macaroni pasta. I tripled the sauce, though doubling probably would have worked. I would maybe make this again, but only if I really had nothing else to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Very good. I cut up some onions, set them aside, prepared the marinade (I used marsala instead of port (didn't have any), then cut up the pork & browned it with the garlic & cilantro. I would only use 1 T olive oil to cook the pork in, its juices will come out. After I cooked the pork, I put it in a bowl then put 1/3 C white wine in the pan to deglaze it then cooked the onions in it for a few mins. Added the pork to warm it back up then dumped it all back in the bowl & topped with the marinade. Served with french bread & cucumber salad. Very good. I recommend. Make sure you get the tenderloin on sale, it is very expensive. This is a great adult meal but I don't think children would enjoy this, besides who would serve an expensive cut of meat like this to a child?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This recipe was good. Although it probably would had been better if I had actually had fresh cilantro. Didn’t have cilantro so substituted fresh rosemary instead. I also scraped up bits of pork & used Marsala instead of port because I didn’t have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This turned out pretty good. After sautating the pork in EVOO, we then scraped the bits of pork up and glazed with about 1/3 cup of white wine, added some onion and garlic and cooked for about another three to five minutes. Added remaining ingredients. Yummy. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Pretty good - next time I think I will try deglazing the pan with the marinade and add just a pinch more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States