Pork in Olive Oil Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
using suggestions from this site -- cooked til near done and made the sauce a reduction with which I then tossed the pork til it was finished. As my husband despises cilantro I instead put half the amount in the reduction to cook down, and sprinkled the pork at midpoint with the garlic, 3/4 tsp fresh ground coriander, and a tsp of parsley. He ate it all, and I still got the cilantro that I love.... served it with cous cous flavored with olive oil infused with lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
super quick meal but not overly flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Okay, but a little bland. I'd probably use less oil in the sauce and more garlic/cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I liked the flavor of this meal, used Sherry instead of port. Meat was a little tough and not as tender and juicy as I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Nice flavor, especially due to the cilantro, but too much oil in the dressing. Next time, I'll reduce the oil by 1/2, maybe a little less vinegar, but use the same amount of port. I also fried garlic for last minute of pork cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was good, but not the best. It was a bit bland for my tastes. To make it a complete meal I added one each of a red, green and yellow bell pepper, and served it over macaroni pasta. I tripled the sauce, though doubling probably would have worked. I would maybe make this again, but only if I really had nothing else to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Very good. I cut up some onions, set them aside, prepared the marinade (I used marsala instead of port (didn't have any), then cut up the pork & browned it with the garlic & cilantro. I would only use 1 T olive oil to cook the pork in, its juices will come out. After I cooked the pork, I put it in a bowl then put 1/3 C white wine in the pan to deglaze it then cooked the onions in it for a few mins. Added the pork to warm it back up then dumped it all back in the bowl & topped with the marinade. Served with french bread & cucumber salad. Very good. I recommend. Make sure you get the tenderloin on sale, it is very expensive. This is a great adult meal but I don't think children would enjoy this, besides who would serve an expensive cut of meat like this to a child?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This recipe was good. Although it probably would had been better if I had actually had fresh cilantro. Didn’t have cilantro so substituted fresh rosemary instead. I also scraped up bits of pork & used Marsala instead of port because I didn’t have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This turned out pretty good. After sautating the pork in EVOO, we then scraped the bits of pork up and glazed with about 1/3 cup of white wine, added some onion and garlic and cooked for about another three to five minutes. Added remaining ingredients. Yummy. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Pretty good - next time I think I will try deglazing the pan with the marinade and add just a pinch more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States