Pork and Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I made this and shared it with some coworkers and it was a huge success! I used about 2 pounds bulk Italian sausage and about 1 1/2 pounds lean ground beef. My daughter didn't think it looked too good but tried it anyway and went back for more! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
My husband loves this dish. This dish freezes well too. I made a few edits, changes and additions. No bacon. About 1 pound ground seasoned pork is fine (add italian seasoning to pork and mix if not seasoned). Use about 3-4 chopped celerly and 3-4 chopped carrots, use fresh mushrooms, add a cup or more of chopped broccoli, a tablespoon or so of minced garlic, only about a cup and a half of half & half, I don't add the almonds (though they probably go well) or the diced pimentos (don't have those usually). To give it a kick I add some white pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this. Next time I'll use it as a stuffing for Cornish game hen and add some dried cranberrys to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Made it out together with some other recipes. And it's worth it! Love how this dish comes up to that my family loved! Glad to try it out. ;) Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
As written this casserole makes a lot! At 2-3 times a day, this pretty much lasted me all week. But it's good. I used regular ground pork. Would have been even better if I had preseasoned it as suggested. Italian sausage would have been amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Since I'm a vegetarian, we omitted the meat in this and also added some Italian seasonings to make up for the flavor. The boyfriend and I found that some of the recipe was vague, particularly the direction about adding the flour to the "remaining butter" which was quite hard and ended up with me straining out the lumps of flour. It might be better to just add the flour after you put in the half and half while stirring, but that is just something we ran into. It was super delicious. We served it with mashed parsnips and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
THis was ok - I used breakfast sausage in it but Im wondering if it would be better with Italian Sausage - is that what I was supposed to use??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Way too rich to have as a casserole. Flavor is delicious but too heavy to eat as the main dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States