Pork and Shrimp Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I loved experimenting with rice noodles. I have never used them before. I went to the grocery store with a copy of this recipe,the cashier is from Phillipines and suggested that I used green cabbage instead of Bok Choy, it worked very well and it was a lot cheaper anyways. I also used chicken instead of pork. I felt this needed more sauce so I increased the amount of oyster sauce and added some soy sauce as well. I loved this dish and it is so different from what I usually make, so it was fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
A co-worker of mine made Panict for us a few weeks ago. It was the first time I had tried it and I fell in love. When I found this recipe I had to try making it my own. What an easy recipe to follow with yummy results! I also added carrots and snow peas. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I've been making pancit all my life and thank you, thank you for showing me a MUCH easier way to cook it! Growing up, I had only ever seen this cooked one way - stir fry the vegetables, then add the noodles - and I always hated how hard it was to stir after the noodles were added! All Filipinos have their own preference for their pancit - I like mine with soy sauce and lots of lemon. I use just about any meat and veggies I have available at the time. The oyster sauce is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AvelaineS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made this dish as is, and was not impressed. My family did not like it. They prefer the original that I normally make which was an authentic recipe from a born Filipino friend of mine. She softened the rice noodles in water. She used extra virgin olive oil, 2 cloves fresh garlic minced, 1 onion diced, 1cup red cabbage shredded, 1 cup green cabbage shredded, 1 carrot shredded, salt and pepper to taste, soy sauce, shrimp/pork/chicken she would choose 1 or 2 of the meats. She has made this often for me. It tasted great. By the way...Oyster sauce is not used for this recipe as it is not the Fili way! I give 2 stars for effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Ash, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was yummy as expected... But adding carrots and snow peas is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Rave reviews at my table, both for the flavour, and for the appearance. I used rice vermicelli noodles. And this recipe is quick: about 35 minutes after arriving home, it was on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I absolutely loved this! The sauce was delicate and flavorful. You could taste the other ingrediants because they weren't overwhelmed with sauce. I had never used bok choy before and wasn't sure which part to put in, so I cut up the dark leafy greens as well as the stalk-good to add for texture. When I tasted the bok choy raw, it tasted bitter so I chickened out and used half bok choy and half cabbage. I shouldn't of worried, the bok choy mellowed out with cooking--no bitter taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Goodchild

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
very good recipe, but omitted the bok choy, sauteed pork tenderloin in oyster sauce, and would suggest using bean vermicelli instead of rice vermicelli, as rice vermicelli gets mushy quite easily. Otherwise excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I thought this was great. I didn't change a thing; I think the bok choy is a very necessary ingredient! Very quick from prep to table. One of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
I love pancit and am happy to have found this recipe. Very traditional and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States