Pork and Shrimp Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was just excellent and such a great change from the usual for this Ukrainian/Polish household. I did change a few things - chicken for pork, sliced gingerroot instead of ground and I sliced the bok choy thinly instead of shredding (stalks got watery). I also followed the instructions for the noodles on the package instead of this recipe and they were perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This dish was very tasty. I used shrimp and chicken because I didn't have pork on hand, and substitued shredded cabbage for the bok choy per someone else's suggestion. Also, I found rice vermicelli but not rice noodles. I think next time I will follow the package directions instead of soaking them in warm water. They clumped together when I tried to saute them in my wok. I love the delicate flavor the ginger and oyster sauce but will probably up the crushed red pepper for a little more kick. The green onion added another dimension of flavor. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
this was very yummy and easy! i will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeridirby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Easy pancit recipe! Definitely add some snow peas and carrots. I also added fresh cilantro and ginger, a little sesame oil and a little rice wine vinegar to round out the flavors. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made this dish as is, and was not impressed. My family did not like it. They prefer the original that I normally make which was an authentic recipe from a born Filipino friend of mine. She softened the rice noodles in water. She used extra virgin olive oil, 2 cloves fresh garlic minced, 1 onion diced, 1cup red cabbage shredded, 1 cup green cabbage shredded, 1 carrot shredded, salt and pepper to taste, soy sauce, shrimp/pork/chicken she would choose 1 or 2 of the meats. She has made this often for me. It tasted great. By the way...Oyster sauce is not used for this recipe as it is not the Fili way! I give 2 stars for effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Ash, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Very good. My six year old inhaled this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNHARJE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Good basic and quick recipe -- can be a great leftover user (a pork chop, extra shrimp from shrimp cocktail, prepared cole slaw mix before it turns to something scarily slimy, etc.) Agree with reviews stating it could use a bit more flavor, but that is easily done: kick up salt (instead of adding soy sauce, which in my view starts the dish down the road towards leftover Chinese food), pepper, use hoisin sauce instead of oyster sauce, add lemon juice and chives, for example.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was a big hit! Did everything in batches noodles, then meat with sauce and bok choy. Then with my food processor I thin sliced carrots, cabbage, onions and added mung bean sprouts. Added same sauce ingredients to vegetable mix then when done added them to the meat and noodle mix. Everyone loved it and we will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Quick and easy. I had no shrimp and had to sub fish sauce for oyster sauce but it was delicious. I also added carrots and think a squish of lime would have been nice to finish. I added a little soy sauce at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States