Pork and Shrimp Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I really did not like this dish. The flavor of the pork/shrimp mixture was good, but got lost in the MOUND of rice noodles. If I ever attempted this recipe again I would use less noodles and more sauce. I also noticed a lot of people saying they used rice vermicelli, they are thicker than the rice noodles I found and they may do a better job at highlighting the flavor of the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
FANTASTIC! Even my husband raved and he's a picky eater. He was still talking about it when we went to bed last night. Used receipe as written with exception of omitting red pepper flakes and adding soy sauce. Can't wait to have leftovers tonight and trying the recipe with other meats or seafood. Thanks so much for sharing this Rayna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My family of 3 loved this, but we would have bought two packages of noodles. We ran out of noodles after the first helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Wonderful! I have never used rice noodles, so I did not know which ones to buy. I got the very thin ones, similar in diameter to angel hair pasta. After soaking them they turned into a gummy mess while cooking. I thought dinner was ruined, but I put them in a casserole dish and proceeded with the recipe anyway. I did add snow peas and matchstick carrots, and I doubled the oyster sauce and broth. Despite the noodle problem, this was absolutely delicious! My husband had 3 servings. THREE! I will be making this again for sure. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I followed this recipe to a T and was not a fan. The rice noodles were too hard, the sauce just "eh", the pork and shrimp needed something else. Just not enough flavor overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Fantastic. Easy to make. I added fresh lemon in the middle of the process. Love it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemires

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
i loved this! i'm just getting interested in cooking and this is a really easy, but not ordinary, dish to make. i did something wrong with the noodles though, because they were way under cooked. i soaked them in cool, not warm water and i think the pan i sautéed them in was too small. so other than operator error, this was a home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was wonderful, and so easy to modify to your own preference. This would be great with any leftover meat you may have in your fridge. I did use the suggestion of snow peas and carrots ans added bean sprouts, also mixed the bok choy and cabbage at 50/50. Just a great meal that has entered my list of regulars. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Great recipe! Everyone in my family loved this delicious meal. I used beef instead of the pork and and also added steamed broccoli, steamed carrots, snow peas and baby bok choy. I think I would make a bit more of the sauce next time. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was really good! Even my husband liked it and he doesn't typically like this style of cooking. Some changes that I made: I used 2 packages of rice noodles instead of one, decreased oil to tablespoons total, increased garlic to 4 cloves, used 3 cups shrimp, 1 chicken breast chopped up (didn't have pork), shredded red cabbage instead of bok chop, 3 tablespoons fish sauce (couldn't find oyster sauce), used about 3/4 cup chicken stock, and added shredded carrrots and peppers. I also used fresh lemon juice at the end which gave it a nice fresh taste. Next time I cook this, I will add even more vegetables (i'm thinking mushrooms and zucchini), add chopped up peanuts, and increase the crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States