Pork and Shrimp Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My family had mixed reviews on this one. We all agree that the meat topping was fantastic. The kids loved the rice noodles. My husband and I did not care for the noodles. The taste and texture really took away from the dish. My husband wants me to make it again, but try it with some Jasmine rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Never had anything like this but the recipe just sounded interesting. We loved it! I used chicken instead of pork & used the chicken broth from boiling the chicken. Also used soy sauce because I'm not sure what oyster sauce is. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Awesome substituted chicken for the pork - one of our favorite dishes from the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
So delicious! This recipe was a great jumping off point. I made a few minor changes/additions based on other reviews--subbed chicken for pork and cabbage for bok choy. Also added more garlic, and a little bit of honey, fish sauce, hot sauce, white pepper, and rice wine vinegar at the end to punch up the flavor of the sauce. I also just stirred the noodles in with everything else. That way they absorb the flavors better. I couldn't believe I had made something so tasty. It tastes like something from a restaurant. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delicious! I once had a lovely Filipina neighbor who would make pancit and share it. This tastes very much like hers and was a breeze to prepare. Absolutely delicious, definitely a keeper - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyduck63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
After having tried this at a friends home I was in love. Her father-in-law is from panama and makes pancit (prounounced ponsit by them) regularly. I have always wanted to try it but never seemed to be able to get the recipe from them. After seeing this I was elated. The five star rating is for the recipe and idea however I did make changes after talking with my friend. I used chopped pork and small shrimp which I sauted in oil with a shallot and chopped garlic. I added the oyster sauce, some soy sauce and the chicken broth and ginger into the pan as well. Then instead of Bok Choy I bought a bag of cole slaw mix (chopped cabbage and carrot) and added 1/2 of that. I had soaked the rice noodles for ten minutes per package directions then drained and added to the pan as well. Everthing then simmered together for about 15-20 min. and served. This was delicious. I'm afraid my noodles wernt as soft as I would have liked which may be because the package said soak for 10 min and the recipe for 20 min. I will soak for the longer time next time I make it and hope they get a little softer upon sitting in the mix. This made alot and I will have enough for another meal easily. I did double the liquid ingrediants and used a whole can of the chicken broth (as well as several Tsp of soy sauce) to keep the moistness in and it still was not soupy or wet but had great flavor. Thanks for a great base Rayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was great... Big hit with my family... I did't have rice noodles so I used ramen noodle... And replaced vegetable oil with virgin olive oil... And for the meat i grilled chicken... Fresh out of Ginger so used soy sauce brown sugar mixture... Omitted oyster sauce altogether as reccommend by the other reviews and I also added carrots... Still can't believe my picky 3 year old asked for 2nds and then 3rds ... I will defiantly been making this again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
My former sister in law is Filipino and has made this for the family several times. I don't have her recipe but liked the dish so was glad when I found this one. It is a lot like the "original" but lacks a little in flavor. Next time I will use fresh shrimp and work on making a more flavorful sauce. Overall it was good and we will definitely make it again. I did take others advice and added carrots and snap peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Of course, I had to modify somewhat based on my cupboard contents. I soaked 2x the rice noodles and drained them. I used green cabbage, cubed pork and onions with chopped garlic and some ginger paste. To the other ingredients I added Pad Thai sauce paste and some water so I would have enough sauce, then tasted all the ingredients mixed together and added soy sauce, a little Hoisin sauce and then about a cup of cashews. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States