Pork and Shrimp Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Great easy and versatile recipe. I love pancit but I never thought making it would be so easy. Granted, the Filipino women I work with make it so much better but I was really pleased with the results the first time cooking it! I didn't use pork, only shrimp. I also used cabbage instead of bok choy.. I'm not a big fan of bok choy. I think cabbage tastes much better. Id recommend breaking the noodles in half before soaking (they have the tendency to stick together) and it needed a little soy sauce in my opinion but otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
this is a 9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Really great recipe -- my boyfriend's favorite. I use rice vermicelli, fresh ginger, and chicken instead of pork, and I like snow pea pods for the crunch. I've also started stir-frying the meats in one TBSP chili paste, 1/2 TBSP soy sauce, and 1 TBSP canola oil first. Then, I nix the crushed red pepper flakes because the spicy meats make the entire dish much hotter. Sometimes I use bok choy but I've also used a half head of regular cabbage and it turns out fine. This is one of those recipes you cannot screw up, I promise! I even stopped measuring out my ingredients and we just add to-taste, particularly with the oyster sauce. We love the rich flavor of this simple dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Really tasty. I had some leftover ground pork so I was going to use that. Turns out after I defrosted it, it was ground beef. No time to go get pork so I made this with ground beef and shrimp. added some shredded carrots and used a sack of regular shredded cabbage. I can never find rice noodles around here so I use shirataki noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
ok. fun to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Restaurant quality food right here! My tweaks: used chicken & shrimp instead of pork. Didn't have already-cooked chicken, so I marinated the chicken in 2 TBSP soy sauce, 2 TBS Fish Sauce and a pinch of brown sugar about an hour ahead of time. Didn't have oyster sauce, so used the chicken marinade instead, and added about a TBSP more soy to the dish at the end. Used cabbage instead of Bok Choy, as that is what I had on hand. Left out the red pepper to see if my kid would eat it, and she LOVED it (9 years old). Hubs and I added red pepper to our own bowls. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyLauraLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
just ok - not as much flavor as I would have liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Love this recipe. It was so tastey. Doubled the recipe but followed as instructed, and was delighted with the results. What a great way to use up leftover pork. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Thanks for a great recipe. Loved the flavors. Making this again next week. I usually do not repeat a recipe more than once a month, but this was requested again right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States