Pork and Sauerkraut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
A nice recipe from Peter Gerry. I made this for work and there was none left over for me. A true hit on a rainy day. I was able to get by with 1 Tbs canola oil and teflon hot pot for browning. Finished cooking in the slow cooker for about 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I personally like mashed potatoes better with this dish, so left the potatoes out. I also cooked in a crock pot instead, High for 1 hour, then on low for 6 hours. Very good comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Yummy! I also added the entire bag (32 oz.) of sauerkraut, juice and all. I needed to simmer it for over 2 hours for the potatoes to be soft, but it was well worth the wait. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
I'm going to rate this recipe a four because my husband enjoyed it and said it was a "keeper". In my opinion, I think you need more kraut for the amount of meat and potatoes. I used a 36 oz. bag (recipe calls for 22 oz.) and felt there could be more. Next time I'll definitely parboil the potatoes as they were a bit hard. Also, I might use a trick of Mom's by adding some shredded cabbage to the kraut to tone down the sourness as well as add more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight. I diced half an onion and 3 potatoes, cooked in 1 TBSP oil with a good sized "dollop" of pressed garlic, added 4 boneless pork loin chops, cubed, just over a teaspoon of caraway seeds, then added one can of sauerkraut with apples and half a can of water. Simmered on the stove for 45 minutes or so. It smelled wonderful and tasted even better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, California, USA
Living In: Banning, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
We're not caraway lovers, so I omitted it. Added a peeled and diced apple to the pot. It softens the kraut flavor and is excellent with the pork. Also added a little beer one time, and white wine another in place of some of the kraut juice. .....auf deutsch (delicious)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Like others, I used an entire bag of sauerkraut. I omitted the browning sauce and used chicken breast instead of pork. Very good for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This is a very good recipe. I too think there should be more saurkraut-I used 32oz. Next time though I will use bavarian saurkraut as this will give this recipe just the right sweet-sour flavor I was looking for since it has that flavor to begin with. Slightly sweet but tart-but not too much of either. mmmmm I think that is the way it is supposed to be but with so many different types of saurkraut these days it can really affect the flavor. I also like to add a chicken bullion and a cup or 2 of water for richness and broth. If you don't like the flavor you can adjust it with either vinegar for tartness or brown sugar for sweetness. I like it to taste like New Years day-only with a broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I'm afraid the pork was not moist and tender, the potatoes were dry and there was not enought sauerkraut juice to help matters. The recipe was not followed exactly; I did not use caraway seed or browing sauce and for the bonelesss pork loin, I used boneless pork loin chops. I really didn't expect these modifications were that significant and that they ruined the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I drain the juice from the kraut and replace it with chicken brouth. Cuts the sourness of the kraut. Use jarred or packaged sour kraut, not the canned. The canned picks up the taste of the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States