Pork and Sauerkraut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
We're not caraway lovers, so I omitted it. Added a peeled and diced apple to the pot. It softens the kraut flavor and is excellent with the pork. Also added a little beer one time, and white wine another in place of some of the kraut juice. .....auf deutsch (delicious)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Who knew sauerkraut in a stew was good?! I used turkey sweet sausage instead of pork, added a couple chopped up carrots and rinsed the sauerkraut. I cooked it on the stovetop instead of a crockpot, so I added some chicken broth so it would not get dry. A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I personally like mashed potatoes better with this dish, so left the potatoes out. I also cooked in a crock pot instead, High for 1 hour, then on low for 6 hours. Very good comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I'm afraid the pork was not moist and tender, the potatoes were dry and there was not enought sauerkraut juice to help matters. The recipe was not followed exactly; I did not use caraway seed or browing sauce and for the bonelesss pork loin, I used boneless pork loin chops. I really didn't expect these modifications were that significant and that they ruined the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This stew was absolutely wonderful. My family loved it, even my daughter inlaw who doesn't like sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
I'm going to rate this recipe a four because my husband enjoyed it and said it was a "keeper". In my opinion, I think you need more kraut for the amount of meat and potatoes. I used a 36 oz. bag (recipe calls for 22 oz.) and felt there could be more. Next time I'll definitely parboil the potatoes as they were a bit hard. Also, I might use a trick of Mom's by adding some shredded cabbage to the kraut to tone down the sourness as well as add more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
I quardrupled this stew for a youth shelter in Alaska's Capital city. The staff loved and and said it was the perfect Octoberfest stew. I added bratwaursts as well. It was very good with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
A nice recipe from Peter Gerry. I made this for work and there was none left over for me. A true hit on a rainy day. I was able to get by with 1 Tbs canola oil and teflon hot pot for browning. Finished cooking in the slow cooker for about 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States