Pork and Sauerkraut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Audrey E. Urban
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Not bad, but not spectacular. It does have a nice sweet flavor though that I don't usually associate with sauerkraut. My daughter (1yo) enjoyed it. My husband and I liked it, but aren't in love with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey E. Urban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edwardsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight. I diced half an onion and 3 potatoes, cooked in 1 TBSP oil with a good sized "dollop" of pressed garlic, added 4 boneless pork loin chops, cubed, just over a teaspoon of caraway seeds, then added one can of sauerkraut with apples and half a can of water. Simmered on the stove for 45 minutes or so. It smelled wonderful and tasted even better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, California, USA
Living In: Banning, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
The caraway seeds are important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Easton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I drain the juice from the kraut and replace it with chicken brouth. Cuts the sourness of the kraut. Use jarred or packaged sour kraut, not the canned. The canned picks up the taste of the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This is a very good recipe. I too think there should be more saurkraut-I used 32oz. Next time though I will use bavarian saurkraut as this will give this recipe just the right sweet-sour flavor I was looking for since it has that flavor to begin with. Slightly sweet but tart-but not too much of either. mmmmm I think that is the way it is supposed to be but with so many different types of saurkraut these days it can really affect the flavor. I also like to add a chicken bullion and a cup or 2 of water for richness and broth. If you don't like the flavor you can adjust it with either vinegar for tartness or brown sugar for sweetness. I like it to taste like New Years day-only with a broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Not bad use of left overs, but otherwise a rather unimpressive meal in taste and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
To bland. You could use the pork for a different meal. The recipe could have used a polish sausage instead of the pork. Also the browning sauce was not right for this dish. Will try again but not with the pork or browning sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Like others, I used an entire bag of sauerkraut. I omitted the browning sauce and used chicken breast instead of pork. Very good for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Yummy! I also added the entire bag (32 oz.) of sauerkraut, juice and all. I needed to simmer it for over 2 hours for the potatoes to be soft, but it was well worth the wait. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I thought that the smell was horrible and it tasted just as bad. Will never make it again! What a waste of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States