Pork and Pepper Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I altered the recipe so much that I probably shoudn't rate it but I wanted to leave a review to let y'all know how adaptable & flavorful it is. I used leftover pork (spanish pork w/ white wine from this site) but my leftovers were very juicy & tender. I can't recommend leftover pork that is dry or tough. I did not have fresh ginger nor chile paste so I subbed ground ginger & red pepper flakes (foodsubs.com is a great resource for knowing what to sub) but not in the same quantities...I just taste tested it & quit when it tasted right. I, of course, did not use the marinade since my pork was precooked. In addition to the peppers, I added mushrooms & frozen, thawed snow peas. Because of the addition of the veggies I had to increase the teriyaki sauce. I sauteed the veggies in sesame oil for a few minutes, added the leftover pork cubes & then added the teriyaki, ginger & red pepper flakes...allowing it to simmer for a little while until liquid was absorbed. I served it over jasmine rice & instead of garnishing it w/ toasted almonds, I sliced up a bit of green onions. Mandarin Almond Salad (from thsi site) was the perfect complement
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was soooo good. I wanted to scrap the plate, and lick it!!!! For the teriyaki sauce I made my own...1/4 c. sugar, 1/4 soy sauce, 1 Tablespoon cider vinegar, 1 garlic, 1/2 tsp powered ginger, 1 tsp. chilli pepper. Then I mixed the 3 T. fresh ginger that it called for. I used it all(not just 5 T.) Then I mixed up some cornstarch with water and added a little at a time(1 T. cornstarch, 1 T. water) I also marinaded the prokloin over night and baked it for an hour. It was so tender I could have cut it with a fork!!!! Cooled it and stirfried it with the peppers and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was very good. But it's an awful lot of oil (5 T of Olive Oil in the marinade and 5 T of Vegetable Oil for stir frying). We drained off the Olive Oil in the marinade before stir frying, but it still seemed like too much with the residule marinade plus the stir fry oil. The recipe says to "continue to stir fry until most of the liquid has evaporated"...but there is way too much oil, plus other additives to do that without overcooking the meat and peppers. Has anybody tried not adding the V Oil for stir frying and just stir frying with the Marinade? Better for you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Great Recipe..I added 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to the marinade in subsitute of the chili sauce, and at the end I found that I had a TON of thin sauce so I added 2T of cornstarch, turned out YUM OoOoO's..I also added cilantro instead of mint at the end =) Thanks for the yummy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is a great stir fry as printed. For us we have to turn down the "heat" a little but otherwise no substitutes. I will not rate a recipe that I have taken apart - this is very unfair. Thanks for a lovely meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
We tweaked this a bit, but loved every bit. We substituted the mint for cilantro and chili for red pepper flakes, as others suggested. We also substituted a few tbsp of veggie oil for sesame oil, which added a wonderful flavor. Also, we discovered we were out of teriaki sauce so we substituted with soy sauce. we only needed about 2 tbsp of soy (as opposed to the 5 tbsp of teriaki it calles for). We plan to make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Yum. Everyone loved this recipe! The pork had a wonderful flavor and it looked gorgeous on the serving plate. I didn't have mint, so used green onion & cilantro. Served over steamed calrose rice and side pot stickers. MMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
This was a very good stir fry meal. I used ground ginger (didn't have fresh on hand) and I didn't have the hot chili paste either. I added some hot pepper flakes to the marinade and used hoisin sauce in place of the chili paste for flavor. I substituted one tbsp. of sesame oil when cooking the pork. I added a sliced rib of celery with the bell peppers, and the thickener (one tbsp. of both cornstarch and cold water) and two sliced green onions at the end. One bag of Success rice was just the right amount to go with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BRUNOSBETH
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was very good. I normally make chicken stir fry, but now we will be eating pork more often! I added a little oyster sauce, honey & lime juice for more flavour. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
This dish was absolutely delicious! I don't like really spicy dishes, and this one wasn't too spicy--it was just right! I got so many compliments on it! I am not a huge fan of mint, so I just sprinkled green onions on the top. I will definitely make it again and again! I am going to add snow peas and bean sprouts next time...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States