Pork and Pepper Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
The best. The recipe rocks. However if you want the taste of the paparika add it to the butter, paparika needs oil to bring out the flavor. I cooked the pork with 2 pieces of bacon for the bacon fat and added it with the pork, to the roux I added 1/1/2cups of beef broth. This recipe is really good. Thank you for posting. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Delicious! I will make this dish again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This was SO good! I slightly browned my pork first, then put all ingredients in the slow cooker for about six hours. It was awesome. The pork was fall apart tender, and the broth was super spicy and flavorful. A new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surlysunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Absolutely delicious! One of the family's favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Spicy and delicious! May be a little too spicy though for those that don't like spicy foods. I used a whole can of beef broth (~1 3/4 cups) because I like a lot of gravy to go over the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was really good! We have a freezer full of pork, so I am always looking for something different to make with it. I didn't have any jalapenos, used Anahiems and a couple dashes of hot sauce. I used the pressure cooker, cooked the meat w/ bayleaf, garlic, 1/2 the onions and 1/2 the broth. Made the paprika & onion sauce in a seperate pan. Open pressure cooker (take out bay leaf) then put the sauce & peppers in the pressure cooker for about 10 mins. Only took about 30 mins total! Will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyteez.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forest Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
It was nice. Didnt have any tomatoe paste, so used some ketchup instead. Didnt use the Jalepeno's as one of us doesn't like them. Used a pinch of Cayenne pepper instead. Also we had dumplings with it. Very nice recipe, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This was a great recipe that both husband and children loved. I will be using this one for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I used grapeseed oil in place of the bacon grease, losing no flavor but saving the arteries. I used blended fresh tomatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This recipe is wonderful.. Even though I reduced the fat... high colesterol here...I cut out the bacon grease and cut back on the butter a bit... this turned out wonderful. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States