Pork and Pepper Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Delicious! I will make this dish again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
This was SO good! I slightly browned my pork first, then put all ingredients in the slow cooker for about six hours. It was awesome. The pork was fall apart tender, and the broth was super spicy and flavorful. A new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surlysunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I liked the combination of peppers and the long simmer time--it made the meat really tender. I also added a little cayenne pepper with the paprika and flour. My husband loved it. I think it's missing something though. Maybe I'll try a little more garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDRIANI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Absolutely delicious! One of the family's favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
VERY hot! Good flavor, but the spiciness can overwhelm you. I didn't devein or seed the jalapenos... if I make this again, I'll either use less jalapeno or de-seed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Spicy and delicious! May be a little too spicy though for those that don't like spicy foods. I used a whole can of beef broth (~1 3/4 cups) because I like a lot of gravy to go over the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was really good! We have a freezer full of pork, so I am always looking for something different to make with it. I didn't have any jalapenos, used Anahiems and a couple dashes of hot sauce. I used the pressure cooker, cooked the meat w/ bayleaf, garlic, 1/2 the onions and 1/2 the broth. Made the paprika & onion sauce in a seperate pan. Open pressure cooker (take out bay leaf) then put the sauce & peppers in the pressure cooker for about 10 mins. Only took about 30 mins total! Will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyteez.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forest Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
It was nice. Didnt have any tomatoe paste, so used some ketchup instead. Didnt use the Jalepeno's as one of us doesn't like them. Used a pinch of Cayenne pepper instead. Also we had dumplings with it. Very nice recipe, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly except for using pork that were cut into bite sized cubes (I had frozen meat cut for kabobs and I wanted to use that up before it got too old). Anyway, I am glad I did that because the meat was falling apart after only 1 hour of cooking - can't imagine how strips of pork can hold up - also - I cut the peppers into thin strips and they just cooked away to almost nothing. By the end of cooking this for an hour - I had pork cubes in a lot of sauce and just bits of peppers. It did have good flavor though. I was going to add more beef broth thinking one can would not be sufficient but it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This was a great recipe that both husband and children loved. I will be using this one for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States