Pork and Hominy Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Added diced green chilies and used chicken broth instead of water. Used less liquid for thicker stew. Very tasty use of hominy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Very yummy!!! Topped off with onion, cabbage, radishes, and lots of fresh lime juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vintage Fare

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I tried this kind of soup at a party once & have been wanting to make it ever since. This recipe tastes just like I remember, it was very good. I made as recipe calls with these exceptions--I used leftover pork roast meat from a previous dinner that I had shredded with intent to make this recipe & I didn't have the peppers so I substituted 2 Tbsp chili powder instead. It gave just a hint of heat (for those who don't like things terribly spicy like me.) I also added a couple chicken bullion cubes to the water because I thought it might add a bit more flavor since my soup wouldn't be as spicy. I only used my stock pot soup pan when making this recipe instead of using two pans. Super easy to make. Exactly the flavor I was looking for. Thank you for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is so tasty! I lived in New Mexico for awhile and miss the food! This tastes just like I remember. I did use all chicken broth like others have suggested. I just sampled it and can't wait for dinner. Will make again and again because I can make it as hot as I like while my kids can have theres with no spice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I didn't make this exactly as stated so do as you wish with this review. First of all I didn't have the peppers so I substituted a little cayenne-not much since I don't like really spicy things. I also used chicken broth as others suggested in place of water. Personally, I think a little less liquid would be fine especially if you end up eating like a taco like the recipe suggest. I also added a packet coriander & annatto seasoning because I was worried there wouldn't be enough flavor. We ate these like tacos with fresh cilantro and the shredded cabbage for a bag of cole-slaw. I was VERY pleasantly surprised! They were light and very tasty. No, they weren't packed full of flavor but not everything needs to be in my opinion. I may try adding a little more seasoning next time but I will make these again for sure. I like to fry my corn tortillas in a little olive oil for just a few seconds first too-I love them that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Like others I used chicken broth in place of water. Smells good and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
my first post. I had no hominy, so I subded dry medium barley, 2 1/2 cups worth. First toast barley in hot lg soup pot till it starts to smoke, reserve. add 3 tbs veg oil same pot,and return to stove. Add meat, onions fry till clear. add 4 cups veg broth, and 2 cups frozen veg. bring to boil, turn to low and cover. 45 minets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
SO good and easy! One of my favorites for casual entertaining since everyone gets to fix up their bowls to their own liking by adding how much lime, cilantro, cabbage and spice they want! I have to double the recipe and there's still never leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I did slightly alter this recipe on the advice of other reviewers. I used broth instead of water and overall I added less liquid than the recipe called for. I served the pork/hominy mixture in bowls and served the tortillas, cabbage, limes, sour cream and arbol mixture on the side. We took the pork/hominy out of the bowls and made tacos, then the broth was like a dipping sauce. I would give this recipe 6 stars if it were possible! For those who say that this recipe has no flavor, you must have done something wrong. Don't skip the arbols, it's a must! Thank you for a lovely recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chef John’s Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States