Pork and Hominy Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Pozole!!! nice. I like the other suggestion using broth insetad of water - and I also like using dry hominy instead of canned if you have the time - don't add peppers or salty spices if you are preparing for dry - but a bit of garlic, Cumin and some dried coriander gives the hominy a great flavour. And then you can top it off in the final preparation with fresh coriander and as much pepper as you like - Poblanos give a nice smokey flavour and if you mash a bit of harmony it thickens the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
USED CHICKEN BROTH INSTEAD OF WATER AND ADDED NO PEPPERS...VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Wonderful! I made this in the crock pot and it was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I used a can of low sodium chicken broth and the rest water. Otherwise followed the recipe. I didn't add any chili mixture to my bowl. I'm wondering if the Chili heat keeps one from realizing that the stew has no flavor! I didn't even finish the bowl I served myself. Just no flavor. If my husband wasn't willing to eat the rest of the stew I'd throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I did slightly alter this recipe on the advice of other reviewers. I used broth instead of water and overall I added less liquid than the recipe called for. I served the pork/hominy mixture in bowls and served the tortillas, cabbage, limes, sour cream and arbol mixture on the side. We took the pork/hominy out of the bowls and made tacos, then the broth was like a dipping sauce. I would give this recipe 6 stars if it were possible! For those who say that this recipe has no flavor, you must have done something wrong. Don't skip the arbols, it's a must! Thank you for a lovely recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
my first post. I had no hominy, so I subded dry medium barley, 2 1/2 cups worth. First toast barley in hot lg soup pot till it starts to smoke, reserve. add 3 tbs veg oil same pot,and return to stove. Add meat, onions fry till clear. add 4 cups veg broth, and 2 cups frozen veg. bring to boil, turn to low and cover. 45 minets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Very yummy!!! Topped off with onion, cabbage, radishes, and lots of fresh lime juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vintage Fare

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
SO good and easy! One of my favorites for casual entertaining since everyone gets to fix up their bowls to their own liking by adding how much lime, cilantro, cabbage and spice they want! I have to double the recipe and there's still never leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Like others I used chicken broth in place of water. Smells good and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chef John's Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States