Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
At the suggestion of some other useres, I used 2 cans of Rotele. It was highon the spicy side with that much Rotele. Will use one can and some diced fresh plum tomatoes next time. The teens in our hous said it looked "disgusting" and were hesitant to try it. It does not look very appetizing and it was problematic. I ended up rolling up as burritos for them and adding alot of cheese in the roll. We adults at it plain or with chips and sour cream on top. I had leftover pork roast and cuban black beans from Christmas and the black beans give it the ookey color. If I make again I will use pinks or pintos so it doesnt have that grayish color. Overall quite tasty tho once you get it past your eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Made as written, this is seriously lacking in flavor. I added more cumin, garlic, chili powder, and a good pinch of chipotle powder. This improved it a great deal but there was still something lacking. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was really, really good and very easy to make. I stuck to the recipe but made some slight modifications that I think spiced it up a little. I added 2 cloves of chopped garlic, salt and pepper to the pork while browning. I used Zesty Jalapeno tomatoes and hot fire roasted chilies for some heat. Some of the reviews mentioned not enough spice. So, I used 1 packet of taco seasoning with just 1 tablespoon of cumin. I think using the taco seasoning made the difference. I also added a can of corn to the mix for extra veggies and color. I served in warm soft flour tortillas with salsa and sour cream. YUMMY! This recipe makes a lot so be prepared for leftovers. I actually ended up freezing half for another time. This will definitely be in my standard rotation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This was good. I felt like something was missing, maybe in the spices, but I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Very delicious! My husband and I were very impressed. I used the substitution of rotel instead of diced tomatoes. Also, the store was out of black beans so I used kidney beans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
So gross not enough flavor and rice didn't turn out soft and I promise I followed that recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I dropped this at a friends house after she had a baby (and made some for myself too). We both loved it! I made it exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
We thought this was great as a filling for tortillas or as a nacho topping. I used instant white rice as I didn't have brown rice on-hand; would substitute 2 Rotels for the diced toms/diced chilies; would use 1 Tbsp, instead of 2, of cumin, and add a dash of oregano. Serve with sour cream and avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
My family and I loved this dish -we've already made it a few times! It's so easy! We made the following substitutions: used Rotel instead of the regular tomatos, and we added peppercinis. Also used chicken instead of pork. Used green salsa and low fat soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Like everyone else, I was pleasantly surprised. I'm also not sure what I'm going to do with all the leftovers - it makes alot! I used 1 1/2T cumin instead which was perfect for that spice, but it seemed like it needed something else. I might sub more salsa for some diced tomatoes or maybe some diced jalapenos for a little of the green chiles. I'm going to make sausage-shapped rolls for freezing so I can slap it in a tortilla for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States