Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I followed the suggestions of others and this was great. My family and guests loved it, and I'll definitly make it again. I used a pork picnic roast instead of loin, and sauted it with garlic, salt and pepper. I added an packet of taco seasoning, a can of corn and served it with salsa and sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This recipe was okay. Nothing spectacular about it. It lacked spice and was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I agree with Mesadebs, puree a drained can of pinto beans and it gives the creamy texture, it's healthier and is low in sodium (much more mexican than using canned soup). I used two cans of "hot" chile peppers, and a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos. I only had about a tablespoon of cumin, so I added some coriander with it, and the flavor was outstanding. Topped it with sharp cheddar cheese, and served it with tortillas, muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This is a good basic casserole. I used red kidney beans because I didn't have black beans and cream of mushroom soup for the same reason. I also cooked the brown rice in chicken stock before adding to mixture. I added a teaspoon of taco seasoning along with the cumin and instead of water I put 1/4 cup chicken stock. I will make this again with more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was very good. I doubled the recipe and took it to my Bible study. Everyone really liked it. The only changes I made was to add some taco seasoning and and I used cooked brown rice instead of the instant. I didn't put it in a 9 x 13 pan, I just put it in my crock pot for easy transportation and had warm flour tortillas and grated cheese on the side. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I served this with whole wheat tortillas and my family raved about this dish! It was very tasty. I may try chicken next time as I am not a big pork fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Pretty bland - but it could be a good starter recipe. Needs a lot more spice and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
At the suggestion of some other useres, I used 2 cans of Rotele. It was highon the spicy side with that much Rotele. Will use one can and some diced fresh plum tomatoes next time. The teens in our hous said it looked "disgusting" and were hesitant to try it. It does not look very appetizing and it was problematic. I ended up rolling up as burritos for them and adding alot of cheese in the roll. We adults at it plain or with chips and sour cream on top. I had leftover pork roast and cuban black beans from Christmas and the black beans give it the ookey color. If I make again I will use pinks or pintos so it doesnt have that grayish color. Overall quite tasty tho once you get it past your eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Made as written, this is seriously lacking in flavor. I added more cumin, garlic, chili powder, and a good pinch of chipotle powder. This improved it a great deal but there was still something lacking. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was really, really good and very easy to make. I stuck to the recipe but made some slight modifications that I think spiced it up a little. I added 2 cloves of chopped garlic, salt and pepper to the pork while browning. I used Zesty Jalapeno tomatoes and hot fire roasted chilies for some heat. Some of the reviews mentioned not enough spice. So, I used 1 packet of taco seasoning with just 1 tablespoon of cumin. I think using the taco seasoning made the difference. I also added a can of corn to the mix for extra veggies and color. I served in warm soft flour tortillas with salsa and sour cream. YUMMY! This recipe makes a lot so be prepared for leftovers. I actually ended up freezing half for another time. This will definitely be in my standard rotation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States