Pork and Green Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I only had one tablespoon of cumin. I had to add extra water for the rice to cook. I only had one can of green chile peppers, but I had about 4 to 5 tablespoons japleno peppers. I used mexican shredded cheese instead of colby. Might try a mexican rice instead of brown rice next time. I really enjoyed something new. Great recipe! Thank you for your receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This casserole was quick and delicious! I served directly from the saucepan and did not use tortillas. No need to bake in the oven just sprinkle the cheese on top when dish is still hot. I used a pork tenderloin that cooked in the Crockpot all day. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara_in_the_kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fountain City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Made this just tonight for supper and my husband absolutely LOVED it. Is super simple; the only effort involves cutting up the pork. I only made 3 changes to this: instead of using 2 cans of green chilies, I added a couple extra Tablespoons of salsa, then used a can of Rotel (tomatoes w/green chilies) With Lime and Cilantro instead of plain Rotel. Last change I made due to time constraints was that I didn't put the casserole in the oven to melt the cheese, simply layered it over the hot (bubbling) casserole in my saute pan and let it melt there. Served this with sour cream and diced fresh tomatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was very good made it for my family last night. They all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Awesome!!! I used chicken instead of pork because that's what was in the freezer. Other then that I followed the recipe, it was fantastic! The family all loved it so its a keeper for sure. Quick and easy, as well as full of flavor and filling. Thanks a lot for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I really liked the consistancy of this dish. I served it with a side of steamed 4-color peppers as well as avacado slices. It was very filling and satisfying, thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Very good! My only substitution was sharp cheddar instead of colby cheese. I took suggestions of others, making it in a large skillet and just popping that in the oven, as well as trying it with Scoops chips. Both were excellent ideas. I served it with one of my favorite sides, fried plantain sprinkled with nutmeg and kosher salt, and topped it off with a margarita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vonda Heverly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
4 of my neighbors followed their noses to my kitchen and loved it. I liked it very much, too. We didn't even bake it in the oven. As soon as that stuff was hot, we grated the cheese over it and chowed down. I made some changes out of necessity, because I didn't have everything and some changes out of preference, because I'm the cook and I can do it any way I want. Here goes: I didn't have pork, so I used leftover, skinned, deboned chicken thighs and drumsticks. I chopped a 1/2 a large onion, a couple chopped cloves of garlic and a seeded, chopped sweet yellow bell pepper and sauteed them all in a little chicken fat until they were done, then mixed all the canned ingredients into them. I used a small can of chopped mild green chilies and a (generic) can mild Rotel tomatoes and chilies. I doubled the cream of chicken soup (2 cans) and added about 1/4 cup good quality salsa (I like Herdez, it's an authentic Mexican brand, high quality and very reasonable.). I used leftover cooked brown rice that I had on hand and the can of drained and rinsed black beans, but I also added a drained 29 oz. can of white hominy. Why? Because I like hominy, and it's very southwestern. I didn't have any cumin, so I skipped it and I used grated sharp cheddar, it was all I had. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to use up some left over pork roast and tried this. Since the pork was already cooked, I just sauted some chopped onion in a small amount of chicken broth and added the pork, black beans, tomatoes with green chili peppers in them, a can of corn, a can of cream of chicken, three Tb of salsa, and 1 Tb of cumin, no water since I didn't add the rice. My husband preferred it over rice so I cooked the rice separate. I heated it on the stove top and didn't put it in the oven. We both enjoyed it. I ate it with chips like a dip with shredded Mexi cheese and sour cream stirred in . Thanks for the suggestions from others. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Yummy! I made it with chicken instead of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elisabeth

Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States