Pork and Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
My kids wouldn't even touch it and my children enjoy many, many different ethnic cuisines. I ate it to be an example and I would not recommend this dish to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starbar78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. Firstly, make either chicken or pork: the combination is wrong during cooking. Pork requires more time... Use two parts vinegar to one part soy -- no need for extra salt -- with just enough liquids to penetrate the meat while cooking. Onions, peppercorns (or coarsely crushed black pepper), garlic, and bay leaves in the desired amount is simply enough. Once I added too much liquid, so I added Wondra flour just to thicken a little: It was an awesome discovery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This recipe is MUCH to salty! We could not eat it--I added potatoes the next night and made a stew, which was still salty. When I read the recipe, I thought it sounded like way too much salt, but I trusted the source. I even reduced the salt because I chose to add the soya, which I understand from my Fillipino friends is a must in this dish. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Yap this recipe is kinda salty, because soy sauce is already salty. Especially if you use asian soy sauces like marca pina or ufc. My style of adobo is marinating it with vinegar, soy sauce, wine, garlic, bayleaf and brown sugar. Simmer all of it then drain reserving the sauce. In a skillet, fry garlic and little bit of onion, potato then add the pork and chicken by batch. Then pour the sauce when done and bring it to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever21gaga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I am not Filipino but my step mother is and an excellent cook at that. Her pork adobo was one of my all time favorite meals. I lost the recipe over the years and was hoping to find a similar version on here. This tastes nothing like it at all... at all. Very disappointed. I wonder if the author typed the measurements up correctly because I did not care for the taste, and I don't imagine any restaurant serving this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayzie71
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
too salty. remember that it matters what kind of soy sauce you use, perhaps a light soy sauce for the amount is more appropriate (but i'm thinking cutting down on salt would still be necessary). there is something big missing, where's the Laurel (bay leaf)? it's one of the primary ingredients but it didn't make it to the list,making the recipe gravely incomplete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasay City, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Beppu, Oita, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I gave this a 3 Star cuz I haven't actually tried making it this way, but just reading that soy sauce is optional... well, I'll have to agree with the other Filifolks in here. Soy sauce is a MUST. Oh, also my Chinese grandmother used to throw in hard-boiled quail eggs in the broth/sauce. Or regular hard-boiled chicken eggs when she ran out of money to get the expensive quail eggs. You can tell your non-Filipino friends, "OMFG, my chicken adobo laid some eggs!!!" Oh, plus, PLUS!!! Try adding some coconut milk in there. Mmmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xinito
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. Soy saude is a must, salt, you can definitely do away with, and bay leaves? that is also a must. i like salty, but this went overboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYSTRESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Too salty really. I am Filipino and this is something that might help everyone... dont knock it till you taste it because it will be good... -- same amounts of pork and chicken -- mix the ratio of vinegar and soy with 1:1 meaning one cup soy one cup vinegar -- do not crack the bay leaf... just put two whole bay leaves with pepper corn in it... -- now here's the kicker... with all the ingredients together with 2 cloves of smashed garlic, soy, vinegar, the pepper and the bay leaf, add a tea spoon of Worcestershire on it... then shove it all into a pressure cooker -- cook for 20 minutes and take it out... drain the meat from the sauce.. pick up the oil residue and put in a frying pan. Fry all the meats (Pork and Chicken) till tender and dry... Serve in a deep sauce pan and pour all the Sauce... This will taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I like the combination of meats in this recipe. I like the vinegar flavor and added some canned veggies to rice for a more balanced meal. I accidentally decreased the salt to 3 tsp and it probably made a huge difference. It was very tasty with a good strong kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States