Pork and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I love this recipe and used my own turkey kielbasa rather than the sausage to lighten up the calories. It is good and my whole family just loves it. I also don't use marjoram but salt, pepper and cajun seasonings. It'll warm your toes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I've been making a recipe similar to this for years. I boil boneless pork spareribs and chopped onion and garlic in enough water to cover. Season only with Salt and Pepper. Add the Potatoes (I only use 2) then Boil. Add the cabbage till done. Stir well to mix some potato with the water to thicken broth a bit. Allows the cabbage flavor to come through. Serve with a bit of lemon juice over rice. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglassville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
The kitchen and bank account where low, ?i had the stuff to make this. It made my week, my wife loved it to, i used red cabbage, looked funny tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I used smoked sausage (bulk pork sausage is expensive!) and added carrots, green beans, and corn to get my kids to eat more veggies. I loved the cabbage in it!! i used a seasoning blend and chicken bouillon granules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
My son and I thought this version was great, but my daughter was hoping for stir fried cabbage and kielbosa. I used chicken broth instead of the beef broth and i thought it was great. iI will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Very good. A nice winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this. My only complaints are that there was very little broth for being a "soup" and it could have used a little more seasoning. Next time I will probably use spicy sausage and maybe a cup more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This soup is delicious! Used 2 pounds of spicy sausage instead of 1 pound regular, to make the soup meatier and to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I had left over pork from a pig roast and used bag-preshredded cabbage plus a little basil....oh my gosh....it took me back to my Busha's kitchen table!! Couldn't find the beef bouillon and I use ready stock base anyway so I just used it a little more concentrated...A keeper for any one with a polish grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I've made this a few times and have found the best way was to chop everything up and throw it into the crockpot on low for about 8 hours. Instead of water and beef bouillon I substitute a 24oz can of tomato juice and add water as needed. I've also added carrots and celery for extra veggies and changed from pork sausage to leftover pork loin diced into pieces. Whatever I've added it takes well and makes a rich and flavorful soup that is great on cold, rainy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States