Pork and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Quick, easy, and delicious! Although recipe didn't specify, I drained off the fat after browning the sausage. Marjoram added nice flavor. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Allrecipes sent it to my email and it sounds wonderful. My family loves sausage and cabbage, so I'm sure it's going to be a hit! We are cooking and trying it out tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Sorry SANDJEAN, it just didn't make the grade here. Thought it was really bland.The granddaughter put vinegar on it to give it some flavor ( even used Jimmy Dean sausage )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I love this recipe and used my own turkey kielbasa rather than the sausage to lighten up the calories. It is good and my whole family just loves it. I also don't use marjoram but salt, pepper and cajun seasonings. It'll warm your toes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I did not taste the cabbage at all. And it was rather bland. My husband did not care for it. Maybe with cajun seasoning as was suggested and less potatoe, I may try again. It did make a lot of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
The kitchen and bank account where low, ?i had the stuff to make this. It made my week, my wife loved it to, i used red cabbage, looked funny tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This was okay, but I really beefed up the seasonings. I used som leftover cooked pork minced up, also lots of garlic, onion, carrot and celery. Cajun seasoning, a little lemon juice and canned diced tomato with peppers also. Not one of our favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I've been making a recipe similar to this for years. I boil boneless pork spareribs and chopped onion and garlic in enough water to cover. Season only with Salt and Pepper. Add the Potatoes (I only use 2) then Boil. Add the cabbage till done. Stir well to mix some potato with the water to thicken broth a bit. Allows the cabbage flavor to come through. Serve with a bit of lemon juice over rice. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglassville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This soup is delicious! Used 2 pounds of spicy sausage instead of 1 pound regular, to make the soup meatier and to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Great simple recipe. I read another review that said this was bland; I don't see how they can hold the recipe accountable, as they may have chosen bland/poor quality sausage or broth/boullion. Choose the type you prefer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States