Pork and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
My son and I thought this version was great, but my daughter was hoping for stir fried cabbage and kielbosa. I used chicken broth instead of the beef broth and i thought it was great. iI will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I used Jimmy Dean low fat pork sausage. I think you need to use the regular sausage for the flavour of the fat. I did not have a can of beef broth and used 3 packets of bouillon granules and adjusted the water accordingly. I heated everything to a boil then dumped it all in a crockpot to simmer for 6 hrs. I also added a carrot for colour. I like my soup with a bit more zip and added a dash tabasco sauce to my bowl. Over all, a nice hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KytchenWytch
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was fantastic! We had my son's girlfriend over and she begged me for the recipe. I used garlic sausage for extra flavour, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly (for a change) and was very happy with the results. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KytchenWytch

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great tasting, easy and quick to make. What more could you want on a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I also browned up some smoked sausage slices with the sausage (I used deer sausage instead of pork, because it's what I had on hand.) I also added some diced tomatoes with green chiles and some egg noodles. It was a great hearty warm winter soup. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Good. Used chicken broth because that's what I had. I also found it didn't need any salt. I added a few small turnips in place of one of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Very good. A nice winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Great simple recipe. I read another review that said this was bland; I don't see how they can hold the recipe accountable, as they may have chosen bland/poor quality sausage or broth/boullion. Choose the type you prefer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This soup is delicious! Used 2 pounds of spicy sausage instead of 1 pound regular, to make the soup meatier and to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I've been making a recipe similar to this for years. I boil boneless pork spareribs and chopped onion and garlic in enough water to cover. Season only with Salt and Pepper. Add the Potatoes (I only use 2) then Boil. Add the cabbage till done. Stir well to mix some potato with the water to thicken broth a bit. Allows the cabbage flavor to come through. Serve with a bit of lemon juice over rice. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglassville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States