Pork and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Hubby and kids really liked this soup. Added some carrots for color. Was yummy and hit the spot on a cold night. Served with beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I used smoked sausage in this and doubled the amount for my brood. It was delicious, but I think the cabbage should be added last, it was almost non existent when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Yummy! Used sweet Italian sausage and carrots. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueRick Yaddow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I've made this twice now, and there's never any leftovers. Everyone goes back for more! I'm so proud I tried this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyrose
Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I had left over pork from a pig roast and used bag-preshredded cabbage plus a little basil....oh my gosh....it took me back to my Busha's kitchen table!! Couldn't find the beef bouillon and I use ready stock base anyway so I just used it a little more concentrated...A keeper for any one with a polish grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I used smoked sausage (bulk pork sausage is expensive!) and added carrots, green beans, and corn to get my kids to eat more veggies. I loved the cabbage in it!! i used a seasoning blend and chicken bouillon granules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I've made this a few times and have found the best way was to chop everything up and throw it into the crockpot on low for about 8 hours. Instead of water and beef bouillon I substitute a 24oz can of tomato juice and add water as needed. I've also added carrots and celery for extra veggies and changed from pork sausage to leftover pork loin diced into pieces. Whatever I've added it takes well and makes a rich and flavorful soup that is great on cold, rainy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Delicious! Even my picky 4 year old daughter ate this. I used Turkey sausage instead of pork, and fresh marjoram (added just a few minutes before completion) but the results were wonderful. Definitely not bland, and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this. My only complaints are that there was very little broth for being a "soup" and it could have used a little more seasoning. Next time I will probably use spicy sausage and maybe a cup more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Esay, economical & yummy! I used homemade chicken broth instead of beef broth & bullion. I also added some red pepper flakes, a bay leaf, a sprinkling of caraway seeds & dried basil instead of marjoram, which I did not have on hand. Very good. We buy pork by the 1/2 directly from the farmer, and I always struggle to use up all the sausage. This recipe will help a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States