Pork and Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I made this last night, amazing! However, I did use spare ribs, which I cooked in the oven for a few hours, and let the stew simmer for a couple of more hours with a bit of cumin and paprika. I topped the dish off with cilantro and a little sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was awesome! I did adjust the chicken broth to bean ratio for a thicker stew (1 1/2 cans beans to 1 1/4 cup chicken broth). I couln't find chorizo so I used ham and seasoned with cumin, ancho powder, paprika, and cayenne. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was SO good! Everything tasted delish! I did everything exactly as written and loved it, yet will add more beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very good- I did in the crock-pot instead and doubled the recipe for leftovers and added extra beans...next time I will lessen the liquid (too much for the crock-pot, as was more like a soup) and use reduced-sodium broth as the chorizo is VERY salty. Next time I will add some sauted green pepper and diced tomatoes to the mix- this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Real Cake Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was a wonderful stew and I really am not a stew eater. I made it one evening to serve for lunch the next day and I had two bowls of it before I went to bed. I could not put it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Used sweet Italian sausage since I was taking it to a BBQ with small kids. It was a huge hit! Double the beans plus added more stock. Used the oil from the sausage to saute the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This recipe is very tasty! I cooked it in a Crock-Pot, like one of the other reviewers. A Brazilian lady told me that this recipe is called "Feijao e Porco" in Brazil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTON SCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This stew is SENSATIONAL. I had leftover pork tenderloin I didn't know what to do with, so I chose this recipe not really knowing what to expect. Boy am I glad I did. It was a huge hit with my family. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Had an extra pork tenderloin and no time to marinate it and came across this recipe. I doubled the beans but left everything else the same and it is wonderful!! Making it for a second time tonight. Didn't need salt or pepper. Between the pork and chorizo, there's plenty of spice. Oh, I did use bulk chorizo...just easier for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Felt like pork on my fork tonight and made this amazing recipe. My husband does not like spices and he simply adored this pork recipe tonight.. going to have to share with all m friends. Thanks just amazing with portuguese fresh buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mcorreia

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States