Pork and Bean Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I also substitute the beans with 2-3 bananas. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
My in-laws request this for every Thanksgiving. I tried it because its name sounds awful. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Interesting but not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Aside from leaving out the walnuts, I followed this recipe exactly, and it is DELICIOUS! I was inspired to try it because my daughters and I are reading the American Girls books (Molly, 1944) in which they needed to ration sugar because of WWII. A wonderful lesson, and a keeper! We've made it twice this week. The only thing I would change is the size of the loaf pan, it was too big. We used two 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 pans, and the loves baked up higher instead of flatter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I am giving this bread the lowest rating I could because it is the most bland bread I've ever tasted. I made exactly to the instructions and it just tastes like nothing to me. It was a little dry, but that could have been execution on my part. However there's no reason the bread should have been so bland when I followed the directions exactly. They don't taste like beans, but thwey don't really taste like cinnamon or anything either. I ended up throwing the loaf out. I think you'd be better off pureeing the beans and putting them in another type of bread. It is a good idea for a hidden source of fiber etc, but not flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is a very nice bread, easy to make and great consistency. One of the best parts is the opportunity to ask people to sample a slice and then tell me what the mystery ingredient is. Nobody has guessed yet. Very fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a great and super easy spice bread. I substitue one cup splenda for the sugar to cut down a little on the calories. Other than that I love it just the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This recipe came in second place at our county fair. It is very tender and has nice flavor. Everyone was very surprised that it contained Pork and Beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Moist and delicious. And so easy! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Smells like Pumpkin tastes like Apple's this bread is so good. Surprise your guest and have a taste testing party LOL wouldn't believe what people will say the bread tastes like. This is a Must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sassy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States