Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
We weren't really crazy about this. As many other reviewers did, we grilled the pork and basted with the marinade. Although very tender and juicy, it didn't pick up much of the marinade flavor. Instructions say to rub the meat with mustard powder and thyme, but when you put it in the marinade, it all falls off the meat. Maybe better to do the rub after it comes out of the marinade?? Didn't care for the apple jelly sauce at all, just tasted like overly sweet melted jelly. I bought a jar of the store-brand apple jelly, and quite honestly, it didn't have a lot of flavor. If I were to make this again, I'd use either orange marmalade or apricot preserves for the sauce, but that's just a personal preference. Sorry, I know this recipe has had great reviews, but it just didn't work for us. UPDATE 8.9.12 Tried this again baking in the oven and using Smucker's Apple Preserves rather than apple jelly...the sauce was chunkier and so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Excellent. One of the few dishes that pleases my kids and my husband. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Good recipe. Next time I'll grill instead of bake. Nice contrast on the salty marinade and sweet apple glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was quite good. We grilled this rather than baking and used the apple jelly mixture to baste on during the last 5 minutes of grilling. This is simple to put together and calls for ingredients I usually have on hand, so I will no doubt be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
The pork had a pretty good flavor. The meat was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Easy to make and excellent. I made it with mashed sweet potatoes and marinated mushrooms. My husband loved it and wants it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This sauce is AMAZING! Enjoyed by everyone including my 3 year old. I didn't have any sherry so I used 1/4 cup vinegar, 1 tsp sugar and 1/4 water instead. For the sauce I used apple cider vinegar. I ended up having to cook about 15 min longer that suggested but all in all, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is fantastic and I will make it again. I don't usually eat pork but my husband loves it. So I decided to make this recipe as it was close to my mother's and I couldn't keep my hands off of it. I served it will roasted red potatoes and roasted carrots! My kids even ate it and they are picky. I did use Rosemary from my herb garden instead of thyme because I didn't have any. I also added a pinch of cornstarch to thicken the apple jelly just a bit. It was EXCELLENT! Thank you and I will be making this often!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This is my all time favorite pork tenderloin recipe. It has now become a Christmas dinner tradition. It is just the right mix of sweet and salty with the apple jelly and soy sauce. The garlic and ginger give it a great flavor too. And so easy to prepare ahead of time and just pop in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is the BEST pork tenerloin I have EVER had. So much flavor! I followed the recipe exactly but I marinated the pork for almost 24 hours. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States