Pork Tenderloin with Tomato and Pepper Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Both my finace and I loved this! I had to make a few adjustments to the cooking method because I don't have the deep, large skillet needed to house everything (especially since I double for leftovers): I slightly browned the pork tenderloin slices in a 400 degree oven, just until the tops started to brown (I only browned one side). In a deep wok/saucepan-type pan I added the butter and garlic, then cooked the onion and pepper until almost soft, about ten minutes. I then added the oven-browned pork slices and seasonings (some all-purpose italian from Pampered Chef, dashes of black and cayenne peppers), cooked over the medium-high heat for a few mins, then stirred in the tomatoes. I increased them by about 1/2 for extra sauce on pasta. Cooked covered on low for the 60 minutes, and loved the results! I'd like to try browning the pork in the butter one day, but it was fairly tender coming from the oven, and some of the fat cooked off too. This meal is fresh and flavorful! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I was looking for a recipe that would use up some leftover pork tenderloin as well as green chiles and tomatoes. This fit the bill perfectly. Came together very easily. Negative side: It is very spicy. I love extremely spicy food but it was too much. Still very good and I will make again but reduce the black pepper significanly. I think also using sour cream would make it "cooler."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Way too much black pepper! That's what made it too spicy. I thought mild chilie tomatoes would make it less spicy as some reviewers said it was too spicy, but it was the pepper that made it that way. So, I had to drain off the pork and tomtoes and added it to mashed potatoes to take away the "burn you lips" flavor, and the final dish was EXCELENT! Me, my husband and my 3 and 1 year old boys loved it. If you make this, season to tast with the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I used boneless pork chops. I sauteed the onion and pepper in butter, removed from the pan, then fried the chops, finally adding everything back to the pan and cooking through. We didn't think it was too spicy. I only added 1t of salt and pepper, and the dish was plenty flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I agree with others that said this was pretty spicy with the chiles. I added a dollop of sour cream. Next time, I would probably use plain tomatoes and omit the chiles. I was lazy and just browned the pork and garlic, threw in the onions and green pepper, and then added the tomatoes, seasoning, and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This is really good but is it ever spicy! That was even with adding more tomatoes and sauce. One problem I had was the garlic burned really fast and although it didn't affect the overall taste, the whole dish had a really burned smell to it. Next time, I would just add the garlic in with the sauce. I sauteed the meat and garlic then put it all in a slow cooker. I then put the can of domatoes with green chilies in the pan, along with another can of diced tomatoes seasoned with oregano and basil, an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce, and a little water. I added all the other ingredients, except the green bell pepper, because I didn't have any. Cooked it on low for 10 mins., then added it all to the slow cooker. I slow cooked it on low for about 6 hrs. and served it over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was REALLY good! I omitted the green chilis and doubled the tomatoes because I'm a "saucey" kind of gal. If you plan on eatting this over rice or pasta, I suggest using double also. If you plan on eatting it plain, then just follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Queidersbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Great recipe!! I add another can of tomatoes for xtra sauce and serve over rice. Also, if I don't have peppers on hand, I sub with italian style diced tomatoes and turns out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
My husband found this recipe and made it himself for supper. Super easy and super delicious!! The only thing we would change is increase the amount of garlic. He also just add the peppers and onions in with the tomatoes instead of cooking them separately. Our children loved it as well. Leftovers would be great in tortillas wraps, if there were any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This is the best pork I've ever had...so tender! The green chillis were a little hot for us so I omitted them the second time. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States