Pork Tenderloin with Tomato and Pepper Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I had this at a Italian restaurant with my bf and it was very similar and worth making again :) This was a great recipe, I added more butter to the sauce once I mixed everything together, and didn't use any hot peppers, simply green peppers and alot of ground pepper, I fried the onions, green peppers in butter with the pork tenderloin instead of boiling. I also used 1 can crushed tomatoes and 1 can diced and it turned out amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very good. The only change was that, as others, I didn't find it necessary to boil the pepper and onion - I briefly sauted them in the skillet, then removed them and added the butter and garlic, then browned the meat and followed the recipe from there. Served it over rice - terrific!...Thanks, Justin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
this was okay. We were hungry. I only had elbow macaroni, prob. would be better over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jawjie
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I didn't use any chilis because I didn't have any, but I'll bet the recipe is just as good with them. I cut the tenderloin into medallions and browned them first, removed them from the pan and then sauteed the onions, peppers and garlic, and then deglazed with the tomatoes. I put the pork back in the pan, covered and simmered for 20 min. the result was really good. The pork was very tender and the sauce was a really nice compliment. Next time I will cut the pork into strips for asthetic purposes. The strips of pork will go better with the pepper slices than the medallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I tripled this to take to a potluck and came home with an empty roaster and requests for the recipe. I did make changes, though. I used pork stew meat, which I browned and put in a roaster. I then sauteed the vegetables in the same pan and added them to the meat. I finished off the dish in the oven. Oh, and I did not use that much black pepper! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I cut the tenderloin into medallions instead of strips and browned them while sautéing the onion and the garlic at the same time (instead of boiling). I used fresh tomatoes and basil as well as a zucchini and omitted the chilies (I’m cooking for a toddler too), added a quarter cup of chicken broth to the pan and left it to simmer for 20 minutes. Served over rice, turned out tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Smaller pork pieces, all browned atthe same time cut the cooking time down to 20 minutes, also I added the chopped onion and green pepper right into the pan rather than boiling them seperately - that made this meal delicious and fast. I served it with nugget potato halves boiled then fried in butter - a yummy combination and a nice change from the typical rice side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Made it for a potluck and it was a hit! I halved the amount of pepper (like the other reviewers suggested). I still thought it was a little too spicy but when mixed well with plain rice, it lessened the burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Love it, love it, love it!! Comes out tender and flavorful everytime. I omit the green peppers b/c I just dont like em, thinking about trying yellow peppers instead, their a little milder and they will add some color. I recommend buying the chilies seperately from the diced tomatoes, so you can play with the flavor. Also, use the unsalted diced tomatoes, so that you can play with the salt content as well. Horseradish mashed potatoes compliment the pork very well or even spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelsDiner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Califon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Superb! I make this dish for entertaining all the time. Everyone is always asking for the recipe. It's really delicious!! I also add red wine vinegar and red cooking wine to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States