Pork Tenderloin in Bourbon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was tasty, I think next time I might double the marinade and try making a sauce like others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I had no bourbon so played around with this and it was So Good! To "replace" it I doubled the brown sugar, added 3 tsp-ish Bourbon vanilla extract, and added about 1/2 cup of coffee. The Bourbon vanilla has nothing to do with the liquor but is named after the plantations in France from which it comes. It has a smooth, smokey flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I made more marinade than this recipe called for so that i could make a gravy/sauce with it, as suggested by other reviewers. I made a couple changed to the marinade right from the get go.. just based on my taste. I used about 1/3c. gentleman jack whiskey (because that is what we had in the house) about 1/2c. soy sauce and threw in like 3 or 4 heaping tablespoons of brown sugar. Also, I put in 4 smashed garlic cloves. I marinaded for about 2 hours, put the marinade in a pot on top of the stove for the sauce then put the tenderloin in the oven for about 40 min. at 400 degrees.. For the sauce, I skimmed out the chunks of garlic cloves, then added about a tablespoon and a half of butter, and used a whisk to stir in flour until it was the consistancy I was looking for. I also added a bunch of water to dillute the taste. Overall, the meat itself was great. Very tender and juicy. However, the whiskey taste was overpowering, especially after putting the sauce on top. I will probably try this again, but I will only put in a couple tablespoons of whiskey so it isn't so strong. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanytia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
There wasn't any left! Didn't have bourbon, so I substituted whiskey and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was really good. I marinated the pork for about 18 hours, used only 3 tbsp bourbon though. I also took other reviewers' advice and made a gravy from the left over marinade, which was great on top of the pork and garlic red potatoes I served with it, also from this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly, but wasn't a fan. My husband said it tasted like bananas. Maybe it was the bourbon I used? The flavor just wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
It was so gooood! My husband kept raving over it and he scraped his plate clean! I only tweaked this a little by increasing the brown sugar to 4 Tbs, the garlic to 3 cloves and threw in some fresh rosemary. Marinated for 4 hours and it took about 1.5 hours to cook in 325F oven. Served with the reserved marinating sauce by boiling it for 10 min and then adding 2 Tbs. of butter to the reduction. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZUEBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Clarinda, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I noticed in reading the reviews that most people really like this recipe and the few that didn't, really hated it. I, on the other hand, did not hate it but, didn't think it was all that great either. I really feel like the success of this recipe all depends on the cut of meat and the quality of ingredients. So, I'm not blaming the recipe for how "not so great" mine turned out but, I don't think I'll be making it again. Thanks anyway:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I also marinated over night. We do not currently own a grill so we used a roasting rack in the oven. The key is to take the left over marinate and make a sauce. Use 2 tbsp. of butter and 2 tbsp. of flour stir until deep brown. Pour about one cup of water then your left over marinate, reduce to your desired thickness. Serve with cheese mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I made this the other night for dinner & it was a hit. I didn't have bourbon but I did like someone else had and used apple juice & vanilla instead. Excellent! I turned the marinade into a sauce to pour over the pork. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deltona, Florida, USA
Living In: Poinciana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States