Pork Tenderloin in Bourbon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I followed the recipe until it said to discard the marinade. I put it in a small saucepan, removed the garlic & simmered it until it was reduced to syrup. When the tenderloin had 10 minutes of cooking time remaining, I glazed it with the reduced marinade. It gave it more flavor & a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I've made a recipe similar to this for years. I serve it to company all the time & it always gets RAVE reviews. There are a few changes I make: For one, I add a little more brown sugar to the marinade (I don't measure, I just throw it in). Next, it's best if you marinate it overnight (I do in a large ziplock bag). Then you MUST grill it (It tastes so much better this way). Finally, the best part: Serve it with the following sauce: Mustard Scallion Sauce: 1/2 C. sour cream, 1/2 Cup mayo, 1 Tbsp. dry mustard, 3 Tbsp chopped scallions, 1 1/2 Tbsp. white vinegar, and 1 1/2 tsp. sugar. (You may need to add more sugar and/or vinegar to adjust-I don't measure) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
THIS WAS WONDERFUL!! I chose this one, and it was made exactly as the recipe directed. I wouldn't change a thing. I made enough for 8 servings, so I used 2 1.5lb tenderloins. I pricked each with a fork before marinating for maximum absorbtion. I doubled the cooking time, but cooked at 325 degrees. Meat was very flavorful, with barely a hint of bourbon. I thought the soy would be too salty, but it wasn't. The brown sugar helped temper the soy sauce. Wonderful recipe. A guaranteed "will make again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This is my favorite pork tenderloin recipe. However, instead of brown sugar I use about 1 cup of apricot preserves. It gives it the sweetness of fruit along with the soy sauce and bourbon. I also rub salt and pepper on the meat prior to putting the sauce over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIEMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This dish is excellent! I used a little less soy sauce and little more brown sugar and let the pork tenderloin marinade for 4 hours. When finished, I used the marinade to prepare a reduction sauce. I added a 1/2 cup of reduced sodium beef stock and let it simmer at medium heat stirring constantly with a whisk. To thicken sauce, I added cold, cubed butter (about 2 1/2 tbsp.) stirring constantly with whisk. Serve tenderloin, pour reduction sauce over it and garlic smashed potatoes are a great side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I made this recipe for company and they all raved and wanted the recipe. After reading what others wrote I doubled the marinade, let it marinate 24 hours and thickened the marinate and poured it over the meat after cooking. It looked kind of odd with a weird consistency and I wondered if it was okay. I had thickened it with corn starch. Anyway,it turned out and was the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This recipe is easy, and it's great for entertaining. I really recommend marinating it overnight. I double the garlic and also add a TBSP of chopped fresh ginger as well as some fresh rosemary. I have served it many times with haricots verts and creamy garlic-herb mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This turned out okay. I wasn't that impressed but it was tasty enough. I make pork tenderloin quite a bit so I'm always looking for new ways to prepare it. I marinated mine in a ziploc bag for about 3 hours and it did pick up the taste of the bourbon but it was not too strong. I seared mine on my outdoor grill first and then finished it in the oven. So this was good but not as good as my all time fav pork tenderloin recipe on this site, the Maple Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Very good! For the garlic cloves, I laid the flat side of a knife against them and whacked it with the heel of my hand, to break apart some cell walls to release more garlic flavor. I noticed that many said it needed to be sweeter and had added extra brown sugar, so I just substituted teriyaki sauce for the soy sauce and left the brown sugar amount the same. I did as another reviewer and simmered the leftover marinade until syrupy (I left the garlic cloves in it), then basted the loin with a silicone brush when there was about 10 minutes cooking time left. Remember to let your loin sit for 10 minutes after removing from oven, or all the juices will run out when you cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This was okay, the flavor was not as strong as I would have liked it though. I marinated for about three hours. Maybe it should have stayed in over night. There wasn't a temp listed so I baked at 350 for 45 minutes and it came out perfectly done. I don't think I will make again because I prefer my marinades to leave more flavor. All I could really taste in the meat was the bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States