Pork Tenderloin in Bourbon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly, but wasn't a fan. My husband said it tasted like bananas. Maybe it was the bourbon I used? The flavor just wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
It was so gooood! My husband kept raving over it and he scraped his plate clean! I only tweaked this a little by increasing the brown sugar to 4 Tbs, the garlic to 3 cloves and threw in some fresh rosemary. Marinated for 4 hours and it took about 1.5 hours to cook in 325F oven. Served with the reserved marinating sauce by boiling it for 10 min and then adding 2 Tbs. of butter to the reduction. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZUEBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Clarinda, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I noticed in reading the reviews that most people really like this recipe and the few that didn't, really hated it. I, on the other hand, did not hate it but, didn't think it was all that great either. I really feel like the success of this recipe all depends on the cut of meat and the quality of ingredients. So, I'm not blaming the recipe for how "not so great" mine turned out but, I don't think I'll be making it again. Thanks anyway:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I also marinated over night. We do not currently own a grill so we used a roasting rack in the oven. The key is to take the left over marinate and make a sauce. Use 2 tbsp. of butter and 2 tbsp. of flour stir until deep brown. Pour about one cup of water then your left over marinate, reduce to your desired thickness. Serve with cheese mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I made this the other night for dinner & it was a hit. I didn't have bourbon but I did like someone else had and used apple juice & vanilla instead. Excellent! I turned the marinade into a sauce to pour over the pork. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deltona, Florida, USA
Living In: Poinciana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
We really enjoyed this. We let it marinade for about six hours both times we have made it and the taste was wonderful. We will make this often! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
It is good but no great! My husband and I agree with four stars. I may make it again but not very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Amazing! I'm a big bourbon fan, but I was a little hesitant to use my Woodford Reserve in a marinade, but it was so good. A little Woodford on the rocks while I slow cooked it on the grill made for a nice warm up and great accompaniment for the meal I had ahead of me. I made a sauce out of the marinade (as someone else had mentioned) that went really well with both the tenderloin and roasted garlic mashed potatoes. (recipe from this site) I'm looking forward to making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I didn't have Bourbon so I substituted with 1/4 c blackberry brandy and 1 c of cheap whiskey and 1/3 c Brown sugar. Let marinade in fridge for 2 hrs. Browned them in electric skillet at 400 degrees, set aside, add 1 can of Albertsons Cream of Mushroom soup (condensed) w/ 1/2 water 1/2 low fat milk. Mixed well and add more milk/water to desired consist. Add pork meat and reduce to simmer for approx 1 hour. I used gravy in pan for carrot/potatoe mash, hot french bread, tossed salad with lt. dressing. Absolutely delicious. Thanks for theidea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I added a bit of extra brown sugar to my marinade, and used Jack Daniels (my favorite). It was delicious. I marinated the tenderloin for nearly 6 hours, then baked at 325 for slightly over an hour. (I used a bigger tenderloin.) Had guests for dinner and everyone loved it. The tenderloin was very tender, cooked perfectly. Will make it again. And the marinade would be great on chicken or steak as well. (I heated the marinade to boiling, added 1/2 cup broth and 2 Tbsp. butter, cooked for 10 min. or so, then added a touch of cornstarch to slightly thicken it. It was great poured over the tenderloin.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States